A worthy addition to the tired "crazy names" conversation

19 Apr

Crazy names. You’ve all had that conversation, right? About a million times? Wherein you mention a slightly weird name of a new neighbor or co-worker or what have you, and then people start shouting out other crazy names, and a few minutes later people are arguing over whether the names Orangejello and Lemonjello are real or not? Of course you have. It’s practically required.

I tolerate those conversations but try to avoid them for two reasons: (1) They almost immediately turn into heated one-upper conversations, and one-upper conversations are the worst. (2) My wife pointed out the greatest crazy name of all time to me (found here — please take note of the profession; and yes, it’s pronounced exactly how you think) and when I bring it up, no one believes that it’s a real person. Too bad.

However, there is a new reason to engage in the “crazy names” talk, and the reason is this website, which creates an annual bracket of the best (real) names around the world. Prepare to laugh. The results can be rather overwhelming, so try to remember just one name for your next conversation on the subject.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, sorry Dr. Waschbusch. I’ve found someone else, and his name is Vanilla Dong.

One Response to “A worthy addition to the tired "crazy names" conversation”

  1. roughkat April 20, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    My wife is a social worker and therefore frequently comes across different names. Anyone that names their kid Unique Precious Diamond probably should have social services involved.

    But my all-time favorite was Le-a. Pronounced Ledasha. Brilliant. For some reason, she refused to name our son -.

Leave a comment