Can I have this dance for the rest of my life?

10 Jan

I’d like to tell you all a quick story about my wedding. At the reception, dinner had just wrapped up and we were about to begin the dance portion of the evening. Tables were cleared, lights were dimmed, the band was plugged in and ready to go. I grabbed my wife and we stood on the cusp of the dance floor as the spotlight centered on the floor and the band’s lead singer cleared his throat to start the show.

As my bride and I stood hand-in-hand, the singer said, “We were originally planning to start out with the traditional first dance, but before that we have a surprise for the groom. Brandon, your wife has prepared a special dance for you. She has worked very hard with us in secret, and she is now ready to unveil it for the first time. Ladies and gentlemen, prepare to be wowed!”

My jaw dropped and my eyes immediately dampened with tears of joy. I looked over to my wife and she  gave my a sly wink with a smile. She then leaned up (OK fine, leaned down) to give me a quick kiss on the cheek before stepping on to the dance floor and beginning her routine.

And the dance she performed? A-ma-zing. It’s impossible to put into words, but let’s just say watching her go through the many difficult, intense steps while staring deep into my eyes was one of the happiest moments of my life. When she finally finished and the song ended, I stood there in silence, tears streaming down my face, as my friends and family surrounding my gave her a standing ovation that seemed to last for hours.

That was over a year ago. And today, it is finally time to pay her back. I recently surprised her with a plane ticket to London for her birthday to help her realize one of her lifelong dreams: to audition for a dance reality show. I made sure a film crew was in attendance to record her audition, and when they returned home to show me the footage, wouldn’t you know it: she performed her wedding routine. I truly have the best wife on the planet.

To help spread the joy I am feeling right now and to share her talent with the world, I would like to post her audition tape for everyone to see. Prepare for your socks to be knocked off, people!

Well, there you go: I am crying yet again. That’s what true love does to some people. I love you, honey!!!!!!

One Response to “Can I have this dance for the rest of my life?”

  1. Jealous Guy January 11, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    Brandon,

    You must be the luckiest guy in the world. What an angel? You know what dance moves like that mean…?

Leave a Reply

