Lists: personal one-hit wonders

17 Nov

Here is a fun exercise for all music lovers, list-makers and/or shut-ins: go through your music library to find your favorite songs from bands/artists of whom you own just one song. A list of personal one-hit wonders, if you will. Here are my 20 favorites. Feel free to play along at home.

1. “Be My Baby” – The Ronettes

2. “L.E.S. Artistes” – Santogold

3. “You Can’t Hurry Love” – The Supremes (Pretty ashamed that this is my only Supremes song.)

4. “Hide and Seek” – Imogen Heap

5. “Multiply” – Jamie Lidell

6. “Boys Don’t Cry” – Grant Lee Phillips

7. “Maybe” – N.E.R.D.

8. “Jane Says” – Jane’s Addiction

9. “Don’t Go Away” – Oasis

10. “Is She Really Going Out With Him?” – Joe Jackson

11. “Pictures of Matchstick Men” – Camper Van Beethoven

12. “Joey” – Concrete Blonde

13. “All the Young Dudes” – World Party (Same goes for the Mott the Hoople original, but I prefer this version.)

14. “Back on the Chain Gang” – The Pretenders

15. “I Feel so Good” – Richard Thompson

16. “Devil Town” – Tony Lucca

17. “To Love Somebody” – The Bee Gees (Should I be ashamed for loving this song?)

18. “That’ll Be the Day” – Buddy Holly

19. “Bittersweet Symphony” – The Verve

20. “Superstar” – Sonic Youth

(Hat tip to friend and loyal reader Gates for the idea.)

7 Responses to “Lists: personal one-hit wonders”

  1. Gates November 17, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Nice list. It’s kind of weird to me that you only have one Oasis song, but really weird that it’s that song. I have every thing Oasis ever did and that tune didn’t even make the cut to be on my IPod. Also, I’d like to known as loyal reader, then royal reader, then friend.

  2. Gates November 17, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Whoops!!! I meant to say royal leader, not royal reader, and it wasn’t that funny to begin with…now I’ve made two separate posts about a joke that wasn’t funny. Plus, I remember asking you if you liked any of Santogold’s other songs to which you replied, “Yes.” I guess you were lying.

  3. Gates November 17, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Here’s my list:
    1. The Seed-The Roots
    2. Dry the Rain-The Beta Band
    3. Possum Kingdom-Toadies
    4. Maybe-N.E.R.D.
    5. Our lips are sealed-The Go-Go’s
    6. Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye-Steam
    7. Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You-Frankie Valli
    8. She’s All I Got-Johnny Paycheck
    9. California Soul-Marlena Shaw
    10. (Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher and Higher-Jackie Wilson
    11. Whole Wide World-Wreckless Eric
    12. Feel the Pain-Dinosaur, Jr.
    13. Criminal-Fiona Apple
    14. Roxanne-Sting
    15. Just One Look-Doris Troy
    16. Goodbye to Romance-Ozzy Osbourne
    17. Never Said-Liz Phair
    18. A Beautiful Morning-The Rascals
    19. Time is on My Side-Irma Thomas
    20. Just Dropped In (To See what Condition my Condition Was In)-
    Kenny Rogers and the First Edition

  4. B. November 17, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    I have no idea why I have just one Oasis song. I feel shame. And as for your accusation of lying, I *did* have more Santogold tunes at one point, but I deleted all but the above song during the “Great iTunes Purge of 2009,” when I decided that no human needs more than 2,000 songs to his or her name and thus deleted well over half my library. I am innocent of your charges.

    (PS I totally forgot about that Kenny Rogers song. So good)

  5. RandBall's Stu November 18, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    Here is where I let Brandon know if he’s correct or a second song by the artist in question that is worth your 99 cents:

    1. Correct
    2. Correct
    3. Correct
    4. Correct
    5. Correct
    6. “Calamity Jane”
    7. Correct
    8. “Ocean Size”
    9. “Supersonic”
    10. “I’m the Man”
    11. “When I Win the Lottery” and/or “Eye of Fatima Pt. 1”
    12. Correct
    13. “Ship of Fools”
    14. “Talk of the Town”
    15. “Vincent Black Lightning 1952”
    16. Correct
    17. Correct
    18. “Peggy Sue”
    19. Correct
    20. “Sugar Kane”

  6. Gates November 18, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Good call on “Supersonic.” Can I add “When the Rainbow Comes” as a World Party correction?

  7. RandBall's Stu November 22, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    @Gates–haven’t heard that one, will check it out on your recommendation. Thanks again for holding Brandon’s feet to the fire.

Leave a Reply

