My Morning Jacket knows its covers

31 Oct

Head on over to Stereogum to watch My Morning Jacket rock the shit out of a “Careless Whisper” cover. One of my favorite guilty pleasure songs.

Bonus #1: the link also includes a snippet of MMJ singing the best (yep, best) Prince song “I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man.”

Bonus #2: the Wham cover reminded me of one of my favorite misheard lyrics: “I’m never gonna dance again / Can’t you see I’ve got no rhythm?” I love that someone thought George Michael sang a long, dramatic, super-intense ballad because he was bummed about being a bad dancer.

One Response to “My Morning Jacket knows its covers”

  1. RandBall's Stu November 1, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    RE: “I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man.” I think you’re right about that. The worst, of course, is “Batdance.”

Leave a Reply

