Burger tour: The Bulldog

6 May

My friend and podcast co-host Mike and I have embarked on a Burger Tour of the Twin Cities in a quest to find the best burger in the area. Our latest visit is detailed below.

VENUE

No sense fussing around: The Bulldog is my favorite bar. The beer list is top-notch, offering numerous options for every kind of beer lover (including my go-to Surly Furious). It’s got a jukebox with enough variety to please most ears (I dialed up a $5 playlist in mere seconds). Roomy interior, slick design, plenty of brand-new TVs, lots of seating options, great location, sweet menu full of upscale bar food. And most importantly, the best table shuffleboard in the area.

Love The Bulldog. Had our groom’s dinner at The Bulldog.

BURGER

The Bulldog’s burgers are of the kobe beef variety, a noted delicacy amongst many. The meat is both tenderer (apparently that’s an actual word) and more compact than the standard beef variety, and…well, I’m having trouble describing it beyond that. It’s more aromatic? Forget it. I give up.

The menu features about a dozen different burger options, a few of which are food-snob bait, all of which are relatively mess-free and surrounded by a perfectly sized bun. The burgers are lightly salted and barely charred, letting the beef stand on its own.

Result: our group of six unanimously loved the burgers. They aren’t quite flavorful enough to top our list, but they are well worth your attention. And even if you don’t like them, you can shuffle the pain away.

(Oh, and lest the commentariat rip me a new one yet again: THE BULLDOG IS LOCATED IN NORTHEAST MINNEAPOLIS, ON HENNEPIN, JUST HEAD NORTH ON THE HENNEPIN BRIDGE AND LOOK FOR IT ON THE LEFT YOU CAN’T MISS IT. SHALL, THIS IS THE PLACE WE HUNG OUT AT LAST WEEKEND YOU DROVE THERE YOURSELF.)

VENUE: A // BURGER: A-

***

Current ranking:

1a. Ike’s.

1b. Five Guys

3. The Bulldog

4. Buster’s on 28th

5. Monte Carlo

10 Responses to “Burger tour: The Bulldog”

  1. shall May 6, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    You should probably put in a side note that you had two chances to taste the burger that night. Not really fair to the other burger joints.

  2. Brad May 6, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    Do they have a website? I don’t understand why you don’t list websites. You should start listing the websites.

    I think you were too kind to Buster’s, I don’t like their burger much at all. Bulldog’s pretty good. Nobody cares, but here’s my top 5 burgers:
    1. Nook – St. Paul
    2. King’s – Miesville, MN
    3. Blue Door Pub – St. Paul
    4. Ike’s – Minneapolis
    5. House of Coates – Coates, MN

  3. B. May 6, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Bulldog burger the way back up: C-

  4. Lori Lansing- friend of the other B Broxey May 9, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    To the Brad who listed King’s in Miesville- hell yeah! We go to a Miesville Mudhens game every summer and the baseball game is really just an excuse to go to King’s.

    Brandon- are you going to be doing a separate Juicy ranking? The Nook is my favorite Juicy (sorry, Matt’s).

  5. B. May 9, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    @Lori – no, we don’t plan on having any separate rankings, but we’ll likely order Juicys when the situation calls for it (Matt’s, 5-8, Nook, etc).

  6. roughkat May 13, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    I can’t remember if I wrote this before or just thought it, but you should check out Shay’s in NE. The Shay burger is like a greasier version of the Big Mac with actual beef.

  7. Dave MN May 18, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    I’m sorry to blaspheme, but The Bulldog in Uptown is superior to the Northeast location.

  8. B. May 21, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    On what grounds? Seems to me the Uptown location is more cramped with no shuffleboard, smaller TVs and low ceilings. Am I missing something? Is it the difficulty to find parking that gives it the nod? The less-crowded atmosphere? Please enlighten.

  9. Dave MN May 24, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    I think it’s all of the above. I guess I like the dive bar style and feel of the Uptown Bulldog more than the Northeast location (which I think lacks atmosphere). Maybe it’s the clientele that drive me crazy in the Northeast location. Maybe I’m just a sucker for nostalgia and the Uptown Bulldog reminds me of my first few years after college. However, if it was simply nostalgia, I would still like Williams and that place drives me completely crazy now.

    I guess, to me, the Northeast Bulldog doesn’t really stand out from so many other bars that I’ve been to. It seems kind of, well, generic.

  10. B. May 24, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    Totally get it, totally respect it. I guess my culture threshold is a bit less stringent than yours. It’s not like I’m going to be patronizing Chili’s anytime soon, but recently I’ve been less strident about culture/personality and more interested in nice TVs and a good beer list and decent bar games options.

    In other words, I must be getting old.

Leave a Reply

