Sautéing is the new guitar solo

17 Mar

So that she could move smoothly from one burger station to another, Ray had a posse of bodyguards clearing her path.

The above sentence is from the recent New York Times Magazine article about the mind-blowing reality that chefs — and I use that term loosely — are now full-fledged celebrities.

As a fan of both “Top Chef” and certain Food Network shows, I’m complicit in this curious trend, even though I couldn’t possibly care less about the preparing and eating of food[*]. I realize this makes no sense, and I have no justification for my actions.

[*]One conversation topic my friends and I have bandied about: if there were a pill you could take as a food substitute that provides the same nutritional value as a standard meal at a comparable cost, therefore you lose the pleasure of taste but gain the time in preparation/clean-up, would you take it? How many times out of the 21 typical meals in a week? My answer is 21. Food makes no sense to me.

The entire article is highly recommended, if for no other reason than reading the part where the author bestows a most hilarious nickname upon Guy Fieri: Cuisinart Liberace. Cue spit-take.

3 Responses to “Sautéing is the new guitar solo”

  1. Jon March 17, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    My answer: 0. Which goes a long way of explaining why I look like me, I’m guessing.

    Also, I think I’ve said this before, but I the people of America would be happier if you posted a lot more often.

  2. Jon March 17, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    A review shows that you post a good once per day, but honestly, it doesn’t seem like enough.

  3. RandBall's Stu March 18, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    …and yet, for someone who doesn’t “get” food, the two food items you’ve recommended to me (Loon chili, Black Sheep pizza) have been magically delicious. You’re a mystery wrapped inside an enigma wrapped inside Roughkat’s mom.

Leave a Reply

