I continue to love the "back in my day"ers

14 Mar

You may recall a previous post on this site detailing the neverending hilarity of old people complaining about these goddamn kids today. Such geriatric rants are one of my favorite pet peeves on a number of levels, mostly for their combination of ignorance and misplaced fear. Just a tour de force of insanity.

(Truth be told, I am looking forward to old age so I can follow suit and gripe about B. Jr’s jetpack and robot maid as evidence of the demise of a once-great society.)

One brilliant recent example is from a Star Tribune columnist who brings the crazy on the reg, Katherine Kersten. Take a gander at this snippet of her column, devoted to proving that the younger generation’s reliance on digital media is making them all stupid:

Bertonneau writes that in his film studies courses, supposedly “media-savvy” students struggle to follow the plots of classic movies like “The Maltese Falcon,” which audiences of 70 years ago easily understood and enjoyed. Many students, he says, are confused by a straightforward scene in that film in which Humphrey Bogart tricks a rival. Not only do the kids fail to understand the trick — they can’t even tell the good guys from the bad guys, or grasp the hero’s motives.

If this isn’t the most desperate attempt of all time to complain about kids, I don’t know what is. They don’t even appreciate our movies!

For the record, I’ve seen “The Maltese Falcon” and was underwhelmed. But then, I spend most of my time sexting and Facebooking, so my opinion probably isn’t valid.

3 Responses to “I continue to love the "back in my day"ers”

  1. Gates March 15, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    Yes! Courtney’s mom does this kind of complaining all the time. God, I wish I could think of a funny example right now…nope, I can’t. But I do remember suggesting a wheelbarrow as a perfect gift for her. Also, I recently saw “The Maltese Falcon,” understood it completely, would also describe my emotion as “underwhelmed”, and maybe wished (but was not expecting) a little more T&A.

  2. RandBall's Stu March 15, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    The kids today are just as stupid as we were. They just have different toys and different cultural references. And I refuse to ruin my beautiful mind by clicking that Kersten link and reading further.

  3. BreAnne March 16, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Considering that my sister and I just taught my mom how to “reply all” and had to explain to my grandmother that spam wasn’t just canned meat, I think it goes both ways. But to her point, I can regularly be heard complaining how “back in my day,” people could actually spell.

Leave a Reply

