miTunes: best of 2009

29 Dec

Carrying on a tradition started way back in 2008, I have compiled a list of my favorite songs of the past year. I don’t believe 2009 is being credited as a standout year music-wise, but I think you’ll find there were plenty of great singles. Maybe not the instant classics you’ll find atop the ’08 listicle (not to mention track #6, which may sneak its way into my top 50 someday), but better bottom-of-the-order filler. Or so says I.

Check it:

 

21. “Gravitate” – Lou Barlow
20. “Make Her Mine” – Mayer Hawthorne
19. “My Girls” – Animal Collective
18. “Blood Red Sentimental Blues” – Cotton Jones
17. “Even in the Rain” – The Fiery Furnaces
16. “Never Forget You” – The Noisettes
15. “French Navy” – Camera Obscura
14. “Relator” – Pete Yorn and Scarlett Johannson
13. “Too Fake” – Hockey
12. “Empire State of Mind” – Jay-Z feat. Alicia Keys
11. “People Got a Lotta Nerve” – Neko Case
10. “Velvet” – The Big Pink
9. “Getting Ready for Love” – The Alrights
8. “I Know What I Am” – Band of Skulls
7. “You and I” – Wilco
6. “Heavy Cross” – The Gossip
5. “Prophets” – A.C. Newman
4. “The Rake’s Song” – The Decemberists
3. “Sawdust Man” Ben Kweller
2. “I and Love and You” – The Avett Brothers
1. “Home” – Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

Care to argue? Have a song or two to add? I’ll be hanging out in the comments section and would love for you to join me.

 

6 Responses to “miTunes: best of 2009”

  1. RandBall's Stu December 30, 2009 at 12:49 pm #

    “Stillness Is the Move” didn’t do it for you, did it?

  2. B. December 30, 2009 at 8:19 pm #

    Liked “Stillness,” but it just missed the cut. It was just a bit too funky for my taste. Pretty much the polar opposite reason Phoenix missed the list – too clean, too refined.

  3. RandBall's Stu December 31, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    “1901” would’ve made mine before it was in every third automobile advert, but I get what you’re saying.

    “Heavy Cross” = “Edge of Seventeen” for today’s youth. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. It’s my favorite song on your list.

    My favorite part of any song this year is when the guitars crash in at the 4:00 mark of The Big Pink’s “Crystal Visions.”

    My favorite actual song that came out this year is probably the Drive-By Truckers’ “Mama Bake a Pie, Daddy Kill a Chicken.” It was recorded a couple years ago and it’s a Tom T. Hall cover. Tear-in-your-beer goodness.

  4. stinger January 3, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Paper Planes, by M.I.A. best song of 2009.

  5. B. January 3, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    “Paper Planes” is also a frontrunner for 2010 best song.

  6. Mikey B February 12, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Why isn’t there any Lady Gaga, Taylor Swift, Adam Lambert, Daughtry, Lil Wayne, etc…?

    Those seem like the most popular artists out now.

    You gotta do more research…

    For future reference keep an eye on American Idol and the E! channel. By far the most reliable for music lovers.

Leave a Reply

