Another list: best angry breakup songs

14 Dec

Those of you paying attention will recall that commenter A.B. recently requested a list of “the best or most memorable “You suck/I’m mad at you” songs.” She makes a solid point that this is a subject not often broached on the list-heavy interwebs.

So, I took a bit of time Sunday afternoon to create such a list. I decided to focus my selections on angry breakup songs rather than anger in general, mostly because I didn’t feel like including any heavy metal, political rants or Ugly Kid Joe on the list. I’m sorry if this upsets you. Anyway, on to the selections.

Popular songs/honorable mention
“Before He Cheats” – Carrie Underwood
“Since U Been Gone” – Kelly Clarkson
“These Boots are Made for Walking” – Nancy Sinatra
“You Oughta Know” – Alanis Morrissette
“You Got Lucky” – Tom Petty
“The Best Deceptions” – Dashboard Confessional
“Take it on the Run” – REO Speedwagon

B’s list
10. “I’ve Heard it All Before” – Sunshine Anderson
9. “Piece of my Heart” – Janis Joplin
8. “Tyrone” – Erykah Badu
7. “The One I Love” – REM
6. “Train in Vain” – The Clash
5. “Go Your Own Way” – Fleetwood Mac
4. “Give Me My Money Back” – Ben Folds Five
3. “Cry Me a River” – Justin Timberlake
2. “Where Did You Sleep Last Night” – Nirvana
1. “Dog Problems” – The Format”

As always, your selections — along with other list suggestions — will be welcomed in the comments section.

9 Responses to “Another list: best angry breakup songs”

  1. mj December 14, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    I’d say Lily Allen and Kate Nash have the best repertoire of break-up songs.

  2. Brad December 14, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    Damien Rice, “Rootless Tree” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rndltmm3oE):

    “Fuck you, and all that we’ve been through….just let me out of this hell when you’re around….Let me out!”

    Seems like that’s a fairly reasonable summary of how it feels to be in an angry break up.

  3. A.B. December 14, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    “Unsatisfied” – The Replacements
    “Positively 4th Street” – Bob Dylan
    “The Old Apartment” – Barenaked Ladies
    “I Am Trying to Break Your Heart” – Wilco
    “You Oughta Know” – Alannis Morrisette
    “Fucker” – Eels

  4. Gates December 14, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

    Who the fuck is Sunshine Anderson? How about “Dead Flowers”…also, Ben Folds Five never sang a song called “Give Me My Money Back.”

  5. Gates December 14, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    “Take it on the run?” Hey, why not “Cold as Ice” by Foreigner too then?

  6. A.B. December 14, 2009 at 4:18 pm #

    I think that Ben Folds tune is called “For the Dumped,” or “Song for the Dumped”. Sumpthin like that.

  7. B. December 14, 2009 at 8:21 pm #

    You seem angry, Gates. I’m sorry. Sorry for getting that Ben Folds song title wrong, sorry for considering “Take it On the Run” a popular song, sorry for feeling “Cold as Ice” doesn’t qualify, and sorry for believing “Dead Flowers” isn’t an angry song at all. I feel terrible about all this.

    (My attempt to stop being sarcastic hasn’t panned out. Maybe I’ll make it a 2010 resolution.)

  8. Gates December 15, 2009 at 5:36 pm #

    I was mostly just messing with you. Mostly.

  9. Mikey B February 12, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    “I used to love her, but I had to kill her” – GnR

Leave a Reply

