Songs of the decade

9 Dec

Pert near two years back, I posted my list of the Songs of the Century after a diligent amount of research. Amazingly, a few of you responded with your selections. It was quite a bit of fun, yes? Of course it was. Fun times for all. High fives.

Now that we’re nearing the end of the decade, it seems apropo to repurpose that list to the Songs of the Decade. I’ve done some good solid thinking on this one, and my updated list is below. I would very much like if you reciprocated with a list of your own. Let’s encapsulate the decade in music here in our little corner of the interworld, okay?

As a reminder, these aren’t your personal favorite songs of the decade, but rather the songs you think will stand the test of time and be remembered in future generations. Or, to put it more simply: what songs from this decade will our grandchildren know?

So here is the plan: we all create a list and post it here for posterity, and then set a time to meet back here in 25 years or so to see whose list was the best. Winner gets a prize, perhaps eyeball recognition anti-virus pills or new wing protectant for your flying Segway. We’ll figure out the details later. Should we plan on December 9, 2034, around noonish?

Deal. And now, the results.

***

The original list:

1. “Hey Ya” – Outkast
2. “Lose Yourself” – Eminem
3. “Mr. Brightside” – The Killers
4. “Seven Nation Army” – The White Stripes
5. “Jesus of Suburbia” – Green Day
6. “Take Me Out” – Franz Ferdinand
7. “Lost Cause” – Beck
8. “Yellow” – Coldplay
9. “Jesus Walks” – Kanye West
10. “Float On” – Modest Mouse

Honorable mention:
“Trouble” – Ray LaMontagne
“Last Night” – The Strokes
“Do You Realize?” – The Flaming Lips
“Crazy” – Gnarls Barkley
“Yeah!” – Usher
“Hide and Seek” – Imogen Heap
“Since U Been Gone” – Kelly Clarkson

B’s current list:

1. “Hey Ya” – Outkast
2. “Lose Yourself” – Eminem
3. “Mr. Brightside” – The Killers
4. “Seven Nation Army” – The White Stripes
5. “Umbrella” – Rihanna
6. “Before He Cheats” – Carrie Underwood
7. “Skinny Love” – Bon Iver
8. “Jesus Walks” – Kanye West
9. “Take Me Out” – Franz Ferdinand
10. “Float On” – Modest Mouse

Honorable mention:

“Yeah!” – Usher
“Hide and Seek” – Imogen Heap
“Since U Been Gone” – Kelly Clarkson
“Paper Planes” – M.I.A.
“Single Ladies” – Beyonce
“Do You Realize?” – The Flaming Lips
“Lost Cause” – Beck

7 Responses to “Songs of the decade”

  1. Gates December 9, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    Good list…I have to say, though, is “Lost Cause” going to be all that memorable? I feel like there are at least 5 other Beck songs from this decade that are more memorable. “Girl?” “Que Onda Guero?” “E-Pro?”
    Also, I don’t think “Crazy” is going anywhere anytime soon.

  2. Gates December 9, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

    Oooh, and what about that “had a bad day” song? Unfortunately, that song is here to stay as well. It’s got a theme, see…it’s about having a bad day…everyone has bad days, see. Genius.

  3. lattewarrior December 9, 2009 at 11:05 pm #

    “Clocks,” Coldplay; “SexyBack,” Justin Timberlake; “99 Problems,” Jay-Z; “New Slang,” The Shins; “The Seed 2.0,” The Roots; “Such Great Heights,” The Postal Service; “Beautiful Day,” U2.

  4. B. December 11, 2009 at 10:48 am #

    Totally forgot about U2’s “Beautiful Day.” That one is a no-brainer. I hereby remove “Lost Cause” in its favor.

    Related: I think we need to come up with a list of songs that are annoying/unlistenable solely because their message is so general and unspecific that every time it plays, everyone on the planet reacts with “this is totally my song!” Top candidates:

    “Beautiful Day” – U2
    “Brown Eyed Girl” – Van Morrison
    “My Hometown” – Bruce Springsteen
    “I Gotta Feeling” – Black Eyed Peas
    “You Had a Bad Day” – who cares

    So many more to add to this list…

  5. lattewarrior December 11, 2009 at 1:58 pm #

    I just about stabbed somebody in the neck with a thumb drive for humming “I Gotta Feeling” in the elevator.

  6. Gates December 11, 2009 at 5:21 pm #

    This has died off since considerably, but when I was a high school freshman, that song “we were merely freshmen” was pretty popular. That was terrible to live through, same thing with Green Day’s “Good Riddance” and Vitamin C’s “Graduation” during my senior year. It’s like there’s some terrible universal song writer that’s been writing topical songs for people my age my whole life. I’m half-expecting someone to have a hit song with lyrics about being almost thirty and needing to get your life going.

  7. A.B. December 11, 2009 at 10:30 pm #

    Can we talk about “I Gotta Feelin”? Every time I hear that guy say “Fill up my cup. Mazel Tov!” I laugh. Hard. Am I supposed to do that?

    B, I think you should hone in and come up with a list of the best or most memorable “You suck/I’m mad at you” songs. Everyone has a favorite dance song, sad song, or love song. There are so many to choose from… I can think of several songs that try to be angry, yet miss the mark. And then there are a few really outstanding efforts. I have yet to see a list of them. Could be interesting.

Leave a Reply

