Where do you go for music reviews?

14 Oct

I think we can all agree on the obvious subjectivity of music. I could proclaim that the Flaming Lips’ “The Soft Bulletin” is one of the best albums ever. You could then call me a douchey pretentious asswipe and argue that the best album is something from Dave Matthews Band, at which point I’d arrogantly snort and snipe back that the bong resin in your skull has made you a brainless joke of a human being incapable of any critical thought whatsoever.

This disagreement would inevitably escalate into a heated hair-pulling slapfight (which would get broken up by a couple of nearby women), culminating with us taunting each other with hurtful and entirely inappropriate catcalls. Later, we would arrive home confident that the other is dead wrong (though, you might not even remember the skirmish due to your brain cells going on strike due to the constant “Dave” abuse to which you subjected them). Most importantly, neither of our opinions would sway in the least bit.

Like I said: subjective.

With that out of the way, my question remains: where do you go for music reviews? I am at a loss. I gave up on Rolling Stone long ago because they seemed to care more about making their reviews well-written than they do actually telling the reader what the music sounds like. The AV Club and I sadly never agree. They liked the last Fall Out Boy; I did not. They pimped Wavves; I don’t get ‘em. And so on.

Don’t get me started on Pitchfork.

So, here is where I ask you to chime in. Chances are I won’t agree with your recommended publications, which may very well escalate into an online brouhaha, but, hey, better than a slapfight in person, you know?

2 Responses to “Where do you go for music reviews?”

  1. Jon October 15, 2009 at 7:40 am #

    This isn’t meant to be ass-kissing, but it’ll sound like it: this blog is the only place I regularly read any sort of music reviews / coverage.

  2. RandBall's Stu October 19, 2009 at 7:25 am #

    Read anything by Robert Christgau or Rob Sheffield. Beyond that, there’s not much out there worth reading. Especially Pitchfork.

Leave a Reply

