The polarizing performance of one Lady Gaga

4 Oct

After a spirited evening in beautiful downtown Saint Louis Park Saturday night, my podcast partner Mike and I sat down to skim through the DV-R’d SNL. While most of it was forgettable, we had quite opposite reactions to Lady Gaga’s final performance of the evening. Mike was impressed by the uniqueness and her piano-playing ability, while I found the rambling medley to be one of the more embarrassing displays of artistic indulgence in recent memory. I honestly started laughing about halfway through. I mean, god bless her for keeping us on our toes, and I’m happy she’s made such a quick leap from anonymity to fame, but this was an out-and-out disaster.

And now I ask you, the reader, where you fall on this particular debate. Have a looksie at the video below and chime in with your thoughts.

9 Responses to “The polarizing performance of one Lady Gaga”

  1. Gates October 4, 2009 at 11:28 pm #

    Do I really need to watch this to know? I mean, does Mike still not like “Wolf Like Me?”

  2. mj October 5, 2009 at 6:35 am #

    Like any other big hit maker I see on these tv performances or in concert, there’s just a part of me that wants to hear the song that they’re famous for without changing it or without letting the audience sing 99% of it.

    On the other hand, most bands sound terrible when they perform on SNL and I have no idea why. It just never comes together like you want it to. So in a way doing this toned down acoustic version of poker face was good because there was no expectation of how it was supposed to sound.

    i also think seth meyers should be replaced by will arnett.

  3. Murph October 5, 2009 at 7:03 am #

    It’s times like this where I feel it’s prudent to use the “They play her music on The Current” defense…

  4. B. October 5, 2009 at 7:49 am #

    We’re not talking about the quality of her music, sir. The debate is over this one specific performance.

  5. cooler rut October 5, 2009 at 8:06 am #

    anyone see her at at the MTV awards?? now theres a good laugh..hysterical!!

    but wait…
    http://www.mtv.com/photos/lady-gagas-2009-vma-looks/1621412/4252104/photo.jhtml
    oh, theres more..
    http://www.mtv.com/photos/lady-gagas-2009-vma-looks/1621412/4252779/photo.jhtml

  6. Numero 6 October 5, 2009 at 8:23 am #

    The moment of the performance to me was when she had to take 7 minutes to figure out how to sit down at the piano without the rings of Saturn getting in the way of her microphone….priceless.

  7. RandBall's Stu October 5, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    My wife thought it was good, and my wife does not like the Lady GaGa. I thought it was a self-indulgent trainwreck, and I like shiny hula hoops.

  8. Numero 6 October 5, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    It appears that Lady Gaga has just shown us which side of the very thin line between innovative and bat sh*t crazy she is on.

Leave a Reply

