miTunes: July '09

9 Aug

The premise: one CD’s worth of the best songs I’ve heard throughout the month.

The sources: The Current, Pandora, XM and various sites on the web.

The criteria: (1) the songs have to be obscure, underground and/or mostly forgotten, and (2) they must be pop friendly.

The gist: I wade through music’s vast soundscape (listening nearly all day, every day) to discover the hidden pop gems. This is a monthly series devoted to bringing you songs that are universally appealing yet mostly unknown.

1. “I and Love and You” – The Avett Brothers (in the running for ’09 Song of the Year thus far)

2. “Orange Shirt” – Discovery

3. “Even in the Rain” – The Fiery Furnaces

4. “Secret Meeting” – The National

5. “Shine a Light” – Wolf Parade

6. “Bell Bottom Blues” – Suzanna Hoffs and Matthew Sweet

7. “Index Moon” – Grand Archives

8. “Can You Tell” – Ra Ra Riot

9. “Happiness is Overrated” – The Airborne Toxic Event

10. “My Girls” – Animal Collective

11. “An Eluardian Instance” – Of Montreal

12. “Never Forget You” – The Noisettes

13. “Crying Lightning” – Arctic Monkeys

14. “Rifle Called Goodbye” – The Minus Five

15. “The Calculation” – Regina Spektor

16. “Set Yourself on Fire” – Stars

17. “People Say” – Portugal the Man

18. “Hey Ya” – Obadiah Parker

3 Responses to “miTunes: July '09”

  1. lattewarrior August 10, 2009 at 12:03 am #

    “Games for Days” – Julian Plenti (Interpol’s Paul Banks)
    “Gravitate” – Lou Barlow

    Also, I don’t remember if you had any Passion Pit on earlier editions of miTunes, but I hate myself for liking “Little Secrets.”

  2. RandBall's Stu August 10, 2009 at 7:29 am #

    As a card-carrying old fart, of course I love the Sweet/Hoffs covers project.

  3. JMac August 10, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

    Rock on for finding the Obadiah Parker cover! I was totally going to forward it to you but I have ADD and I probably found something shiny that prevented me from following through. Check out Common’s “What a World” for me, would ya?

Leave a Reply

