The Current needs to hire me ASAP

28 Jun

I don’t know whether it’s a change in format, or it could be that I’m becoming even more jaded (didn’t think that was possible), but according to my discerning ears The Current seems to be in a real slump of late. Tell me I’m not the only one bummed out at the recent playlists.

Feel free to chalk this up to a romanticized memory on my end, but time was they used to bombard us with variety. The vast assortment of tunes was even too much for most listeners, is my guess. Those days are gone.

Now, in the past few months, The Current has taken on an unmistakably commercial appeal. They’ve got their half-dozen favorites that they wear out, just like the other stations. I’m not opposed to the idea of pimping certain artists, of playing them daily, but does it have to be the same damn song every time? That’s what frustrates me the most.

I know you love “Stillness is the Move” by the Dirty Projectors*, DJs, but is there nothing else on their album you can play for us? Trying to gauge a new band from one goddamn song is what the other stations — the ones with the commercials and wacky morning shows and call-in prizes — are for. Not 89.3. At least not the one I used to love.

*Alternate examples:
– “DC Comics and Chocolate Milkshake” — Art Brut (also the worst song I’ve heard this year, in case you are wondering)
– “Fresh Blood” – Eels
– “So Human” – Sovereign
– “Nicorette” – Conor Oberst
– “Heads Will Roll” – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
– “Two Weeks” – Grizzly Bear
– “Use Somebody” – Kings of Leon (I love this one, MPR, but you are ruining it for me)
– “1901” by Phoenix
– Those two songs by Glasvegas

Sad to say, but there are numerous times throughout the day where I have to yank the headphones out of my ears because I’ve heard the track playing so many times. Frustrating. Why the allergy to deep cuts, MPR?

4 Responses to “The Current needs to hire me ASAP”

  1. A.B. June 29, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    “Love Vigilante,” Iron & Wine.
    I was a fan of this New Order song years ago and I liked the cover the first couple of times I heard it on the Current, but then I noticed it seemed to be in rotation. Yes, IN ROTATION, like the commercial stations.

    I think they got a new station manager or something not too long ago. Mary Lucia had him on her show. Maybe he is responsible?

  2. B. June 29, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    You are correct, A.B. For now, we shall blame this format change in Jim McGuinn, program director at The Current since January ’09.

  3. Cool Rut June 29, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    Lock it on 93X and be cool like me.

  4. RandBall's Stu June 30, 2009 at 8:36 am #

    I confess that I pretty much only listen to Mary’s show, so I just hear the stress rotation tracks once a day, but I’ve heard the same complaint from other Current diehards.

Leave a Reply

