Tompkins on Prejean

14 Jun

Best Week Ever host — and Mr. Show alum — Paul F. Tompkins’ hilarious response to former Miss California Carrie Prejean’s ignorant “tolerance needs to be a two-way street” comment regarding same sex marriage:

“See? She just wants you to be tolerant of her intolerance. Her point is this: if I have rights, and you don’t, and you want the rights that I have, and I give them to you … what do we have then? Equal rights. And who wants that? Not the people in the Bible.”

(That was probably a lot funnier when delivered by Tompkins than written out, but still. Better than just
angrily shouting about this issue like I did.

Stay cool over the summer, Best Week Ever. See you in 2010. (Hopefully.)

5 Responses to “Tompkins on Prejean”

  1. NIH June 15, 2009 at 8:41 am #

    http://www.politifact.com/truth-o-meter/statements/2009/may/12/miss-california-usa/miss-usa-runner-carrie-prejeans-comments-same-sex-/

    Looking forward to 2010 and Tompkin’s “intolerance” riff on President Obama. I suppose he’s just starting with the easier targets and working his way up.

    (For the record, I could give a shit who anyone marries. And obviously there are too many bigots in the world. But there are reasonable arguments in the pro-civil-union-but-anti-gay-marriage camp that President Obama belongs to. I don’t always agree with those arguments, but they don’t necessarily come from a place of bigotry and intolerance.)

  2. B. June 15, 2009 at 5:29 pm #

    NIH – I respect your opinion and I believe (hope?) I’ve made clear my openmindedness about differing outlooks on political issues. But I have absolutely zero tolerance for this “please respect my wish for unequal rights” opinion.

    If there IS a reasonable argument, I am plenty happy to hear it. Because every contention I have heard from Prejean and her cohorts thus far has been from a place of bigotry. And if Obama doesn’t favor extending equal rights to same-sex unions either, then fuck him as well.

  3. RandBall's Stu June 16, 2009 at 7:40 am #

    The next reasonable argument against gay marriage will be the first one.

    If I had to guess, Obama’s stance is borne out of simple pragmatism, while Prejean’s stance is due to her deep, deep stupidity. The fact that they end up in the same place reflects poorly upon the former, not well upon the latter.

  4. RandBall's Stu June 16, 2009 at 8:14 am #

    As for Tompkins: he’s a comedian. His responsibility is to be funny, not bipartisan. As a result, he may tell a joke that is hypocritical, patently unfair, pokes fun at something you yourself hold dear, and even lets other, more deserving targets go unmentioned. It’s true! I’ve seen it myself: Rodney Dangerfield once did an entire set about how he got no respect, yet failed to mention that he was actually respected by his peers, all while never once mentioning that FDR sold us out to Stalin at Yalta. The nerve!

  5. NIH June 16, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    Can’t disagree with anything Stu said.

    Those who say gay couples do not deserve any of the rights given to married couples are bigoted and intolerant. But Prajean and President Obama are not in that camp. They support full rights for gay couples. Gays just can’t use the word “married”. That word belongs to Prajean & Obama’s little club. That word is sacred within their little club. They want gays to use a different term, like Civil Union, not because they hate gays but because they want to protect their special word. It’s childish, but not bigoted or intolerant. And to call it such does a disservice to the fight against true bigotry and intolerance.

    OK, I’m done. I agree with a lot of what you write Mr. B. But I only enjoy commenting when I disagree. If I didn’t think you were openminded, I wouldn’t bother.

Leave a Reply

