From the Department of Ideas That Are Too Great to Happen

6 May

…Is ESPN’s Bill Simmons lobbying like a madman to be considered for the Timberwolves’ GM position. Check out his sales pitch on Randball. Sounds nutty on the surface, but I’m deeply in love with the idea. This potential hire (which I need to continually remind myself will never, ever happen) would immediately bring some excitement to the franchise, which is good and necessary and badly overdue, but more importantly could actually possibly maybe work. Anyone who’s read his stuff will tell you he knows his hoops, and his knowleddge of how franchises build championship teams would be hugely valuable. I fail to see how David Kahn or the other candidates would be better. I am all in. 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to write an impassioned plea to the current Wolves front office who couldn’t care less what I or any other fans think about the GM hiring. Awesome.

2 Responses to “From the Department of Ideas That Are Too Great to Happen”

  1. Gates May 6, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    Agreed. Simmons has become much whinier in recent years, but as you say, the man still knows his hoops. I’m all for it. Also, I’d like the huge UConn dude and Steph Curry.

  2. lattewarrior May 6, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

    The state of Minnesota sports is just gross. The Vikings need an aging ex-Packer to realize their potential and the Timberwolves need a snarky sports writer to make them relevant. But since I endorse both moves I guess that makes me equally sad.

Leave a Reply

