Here I go again about that silly "How I Met Your Mother" show

4 May

Donna Bowman from The A.V. Club nails the intro to her HIMYM recap: When Ted picked up the yellow umbrella on his way out of the apartment to get a bagel, did your heart start beating faster?  Mock me all you want, but I am seriously invested in the masterplot of this show.  I catch my breath whenever there’s a hint of mother information or mother activity.  If you’re with me, then you might have been soaring during the montage where Ted hugs all the people who led him to that fateful moment at the end of Act III, set to Guided By Voices’ joyful “Glad Girls.”  You might have yelled out involuntarily when the montage ended and Sarah Chalke appeared.  Did you yell out “No!”? Was it “Yes!”?  If you stayed quietly in your seat, then this recap might not be for you.

Right fucking on. Go ahead and mock me too, because this episode had me all kinds of worked up, particularly in three different moments; two negative and one positive. I’ll start with the positive:

The Cecilia chart. “This circle represents people who are breaking my heart. And this circle represents people shaking my confidence daily. And where they overlap? Cecilia.” Classic, classic HIMYM moment. Even typing that out was fun. The whole storyline about the charts had me giddy. It made the episode.

And now on to the negatives…

The reemergence of Stella. Thinking about it now, I’m confident that she isn’t the mother. She can’t be. Impossible. But I briefly lost my mind when the woman under the umbrella was revealed to be Stella. Or maybe it was just the realization that she’ll probably be the one that leads Ted to the mother, which is only a bummer because I never liked her character and also because come on, get on with it already. Either way, I flipped out and am kind of embarrassed about it.

Barney’s continued pining for Robin. Please god no. I’ve said it a hundred times and I’ll say it again, Robin and Barney will not work. Someone as cool as Robin wouldn’t be caught dead with a chauvinistic walking STD like Barney, no matter how awesome he is at magic. It’s ridiculous, and it reeks of Sitcom 101, and I’m bummed when looking forward to a season 5 with the Barney-Robin hookup as a principal plot. To which I say again: please god no.

That said, I can’t hardly wait for the final two episodes of the season.

8 Responses to “Here I go again about that silly "How I Met Your Mother" show”

  1. AZGopherGirl May 5, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    I have never agreed with you more, Brandong. Spot on assessment.

  2. lattewarrior May 5, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    I loved the charts but that sequence alone couldn’t save the episode from taking a one-way trip to Schmaltzville. The hug scene? The Stella red herring? The whole Serendipity bit? No Lily (maternity leave, I’m guessing)? And don’t get me started on the return of lovesick Barney. Soooo not awesome.

  3. B. May 5, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    Latte, GET OUT OF HERE and never come back. Actually, wait, first I have to explain something. (A) It was supposed to be a schmaltzy memory. It’s Ted. That’s who he is. I don’t think the viewers were supposed to be moved by it. (B) Thinking back to the “Shelter Island” ep, the show made it crystal clear she ain’t the mother (remember the fake flash-forward with the different kids?). I don’t think this qualifies as a red herring. She’ll simply be the conduit to the mother.

    OK, now you can get out of here.

  4. lattewarrior May 5, 2009 at 7:05 pm #

    You’re too caught up in the frilliness of the episode to see the Stella gimmick for what it is. Don’t you think the vast majority of viewers reacted to that crosswalk moment with an, “Oh… My… God! It’s Stella! She’s the “Mother!”? Really? Neither you nor I believe she’s Ted’s ultimate “One,” so doesn’t the buildup of the narrative then cast Stella as a red herring? I agree that she’s likely a conduit but I’m pretty sure most people didn’t make that leap. So she’s a red herring, which is the oldest trick in the Sweeps Book.

  5. B. May 5, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    OK, you win. She’s a red herring for the casual viewers. But, what do I care what the casual viewers think about this show? HIMYM has ALWAYS been better for the diehards, what with all the callbacks and inside references and repeated gags. Casual viewers don’t get half the pleasure as the rest of us, which is partly why I like it so much.

    I also like that their Britneyesque Sweeps gags don’t detract to the overall show, at least not in my opinion. They’re fodder for the channel-surfers, which is understandably necessary.

  6. RandBall's Stu May 6, 2009 at 6:02 am #

    Jesus, guys, they played a Guided By Voices song on the teevee. Just be happy for that.

  7. lattewarrior May 11, 2009 at 8:42 pm #

    Last word on the HIMYM kerfuffle, courtesy of the May 15 issue of Entertainment Weekly: MOTHER OF A TWIST HAS FANS BUZZING: Well played, How I Met Your Mother. The ending of the May 4 episode–which strongly hinted that Sarah Chalke’s Stella is the show’s eponymous mom–succeeded in both bringing Mother’s central mystery back to the forefront and generating some serious buzz. “We freaked out a ton of people,” concedes producer Carter Bays, who adds that although Ted’s baby mama won’t be ID’ed until the series finale, the Stella piece of the puzzle will be solved this week. “Everything will be made clear.”

    Huzzzah!

  8. vouchersmate July 16, 2011 at 1:15 am #

    Looks like another viewer got frustrated with the long wait to his wife, but seriously there is nothing wrong with the show is going, well they have to earn money and for that they have to keep running the show and fro that they better not show their mother otherwise there will be no fun in the show!!

Leave a Reply

