Let's ponder this beautiful idiot for a brief moment

30 Apr

 

carrie_prejean_miss_california_usaLike most of you, I’ve spent the better part of my time these past few days trying to distract myself from the ever-confusing Swine Flu news. The 100-day mark for President Obama was interesting for a half-second until we all realized the supposed milestone means absolutely nothing. So of late, I’ve been directing my wayward attention to Carrie Prejean, the Palinesque Miss USA beauty pageant contestant who commented recently that she doesn’t think we should allow those dastardly sinning gays to get hitched.

As a part-time blogger and full-time hurler of snark, I immediately began concocting one-liners to post on this here site. However, this is such a weirdly interesting issue, I can’t contain it to a few quips and a link to find more info. I find two facets on this subject particularly interesting:

1. Prejean specifically used the words “protect marriage.” Maybe it was an off-the-cuff phrase with no underlying meaning, but it seems like the word is constantly thrown around during these idiotic debates. “Protect.” What exactly is she trying to protect marriage from? Consenting adults who have different tastes than her?

I’m going to try to not play the high school debate club “choosing the most extreme example of this principle and arguing against it instead” card, but … what if the numbers indicated that poor people or a certain ethnicity had a much higher divorce rate and was thus ruining the “sanctity” of the act? Would it be OK to publicly state that Alabamans or Spanish people should not be allowed to marry? Because this seems to be a similar argument this woman (and, obviously, many others) is trying to make. I don’t understand what she is protecting marriage from, and what exactly will happen if she fails in enacting said protection.

2. How surprised Prejean seems that people don’t respect her opinion. I saw a clip of her on The Today Show this morning, and she said something to the effect of, “I respect the opinions of others, I just wish they would respect mine.” First off, for obvious reasons, I seriously doubt the former part.

But here is my bigger point: I think when your opinion pretty clearly amounts to inequality of human rights, the best thing for decent people to do is to NOT respect your opinion, to loudly and forcefully, for the good of human rights, declare your opinion to be hateful and unjust and wrong.

I’ll put it another way, Carrie: what if I publicly declared that all women with implants – this reminds me: yours are gorgeous and I hoped you thanked the Miss California Organization for paying for them – should not be allowed to be kindergarten teachers. It’s my humble opinion that giant, unnatural, rock-hard knockers will send the wrong message to the kids.

Then when you and the other silicone fans stand up to say, that is wrong, you are a dick, you can’t deny me my basic rights for having a different outlook on life especially when it’s a victimless decision … well, could you imagine me responding to your justified rage by saying “I respect your opinion, I just wish you could respect mine”? You would probably drag me in the streets and kill me (fingers crossed it’d be suffocation by motorboating) for my support of inequality.

Which you should. So tell me again, why is it that I’m supposed to “respect” an opinion regarding unequal rights? Seems to me, kiddo, that you might need a refresher course on what that word means and how to use it in a sentence.

So, after thoughtful consideration, I have come to this sadly obvious conclusion: Carrie Prejean is a bona-fide idiot. I truly mean that and I’d say it to her face, unless she can present an argument that makes logical sense to other human beings. Spewing hateful opinions and then being all “wha?” when people get riled up is a pretty clear sign of lack of intelligence, and that she’s a mere mouthpiece to whatever lame-ass backwoods jargon she was fed as a child. Which I suppose is a smidgen better than being consciously hateful. But just barely. 

Either way, I’m done with this issue and am going to go searching for other elements to occupy my brain. This one ain’t worth the time. 

7 Responses to “Let's ponder this beautiful idiot for a brief moment”

  1. NIH May 1, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    Agreed. What an idiot. Why can’t she be more open minded and agree with me?

  2. Dave MN May 1, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    Better than pondering an ugly idiot, I suppose.

  3. B. May 1, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    @NIH: Ordinarily I’m all for the “live and let live” M.O., but I don’t see how there is any room for disagreement on human rights issues. My feeling is history will show anti-gay marriage people as being as wrong as those who voted against civil rights, womens’ right to vote, et al.

    I can’t believe we (society) are still having this discussion.

  4. Dave MN May 1, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    The thing that I enjoy the most is that people who are trying to deny others equal rights just think of their point of view as a “difference of opinion”.

    Ex: “Just because I don’t share your opinion, doesn’t make me a bigot.”

    You’re right, holding the opinion you do on this issue is what makes you a bigot, not whether you disagree with me and my “whiny liberalism”.

  5. RandBall's Stu May 1, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    I’m going to try and remember this incident when she does her first girl-on-girl scene on Skinemax After Hours.

  6. Cool Rut May 5, 2009 at 8:20 am #

    Bumper sticker in the parking lot at my work: Protect Marriage. Family Values forever; Gay Rights Never. I have been waiting to see whose car it is but it was hurting my productivity staring out the window for hours each day, so I slashed his/her tires this morning.

  7. Tito May 22, 2009 at 7:03 am #

    I’m pro-gay marriage, but your ‘snarky’ argument logic disappoints me. Angry, malformed comments like your own will hinder our cause for equal rights.

Leave a Reply

