Tragic: Flaming Lips and Arcade Fire are not BFFs

5 Mar

Oh my god, two of my favorite bands in a verbal spat. This isn’t happening. Tell me this is not real. How to choose sides? I’m conflicted and sad and confused and lost. Is there no truth anymore? What has come to this world I have known? Is Wayne Coyne not the epitome of fun-loving grace and respect? Is Win Butler not the sunny reincarnation of Jesus Christ himself?

This is a lot like that one time when my parents got divorced, except about ten times worse and I am fucking serious. Why? Why god why????

9 Responses to “Tragic: Flaming Lips and Arcade Fire are not BFFs”

  1. Gates March 6, 2009 at 2:15 am #

    It kind of sounds like Wayne Coyne is the d-bag.

  2. B. March 6, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    Shut your face, right now.

  3. Cool Rut March 6, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    I remember when your parents got divorced and you acted out. You said “this stress is bad for my skin and it makes me want to eat a lot”. I tried to tell you that rubbing chicken grease on your face was not a good step in a proper face care regimen. Also, I reminded you that it is natural to eat for comfort but a better way to deal with stress was take a magazine into the bathroom and “comb your hair”. My advice on that would not change, except maybe replace the magazine with your laptop. Are you sure this is worse than that?

  4. Dave MN March 6, 2009 at 9:01 am #

    It’s kind of like when Guns ‘n’ Roses were in a feud with Motley Crue…

  5. B. March 6, 2009 at 10:40 am #

    This is much worse. “Combing my hair” during the junior high years provided me some of the great memories of my life.

    This issue here is just heartbreak, pure and simple.

  6. BreAnne March 6, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    I’m going to let Arcade Fire have custody of me, I’m fine seeing the Flaming Lips every other weekend. However, this does mean that they have to give me a super-awesome birthday present to make up for it.

    That link also contains a highly entertaining recap of Miley Cyrus’ claim that she will “ruin” Radiohead after they snubbed her at the Grammy’s. I’m so glad I don’t have a daughter…

  7. RandBall's Stu March 9, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    I have Wayne’s back 100%. This is because I’m old, and they’re awesome.

  8. Jamesp March 9, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    This story made me think about another in ’07 about Arcade Fire:

    http://acephalous.typepad.com/win-butler-needs-to-give-my-basketball.html

    There’s a rebuttal in the comments with a different account. Is this becoming a trend for Arcade Fire?

  9. lattewarrior March 10, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    Who do you cheer for in Arcade Fire vs. Flaming Lips? That’s like rooting for the spotted pit bull to kill the albino pit bull.

Leave a Reply

