Top Chef recap: 2/4

4 Feb

Top Chef, top six. Let’s get right into the action.

The quickfire was a disgusting sardine-cleaning, eel-skinning, fish-filleting seafood super challenge that most chefs completely (and strangely) sucked ass at doing. They’re required to peel the skins off fish, nail heads to cutting boards, yank out entrails and more. In case that detail doesn’t quite spell it out: watching it was possibly the most repulsive thing I’ve seen on this show, or at least since last season’s Lisa and her crap-ass attitude. And her hairdo.

After the chefs finish their scale-slashing, we move on to a strangely long segment showing the chefs eating a six-course seafood meal. The seventh course reveals the Elimination Challenge: each remaining chef has to recreate one of the dishes they just ate.

Jamie begins bitching about her dish before she even begins – she’s never made it, she thinks it tastes bad, the dish is boring, etc — which cements her status as the most annoying contestant of the season. I think we can all agree on that.

The chefs get to work peeling and slicing their fish scales in the kitchen. Leah boringly claims how much she wants to be there, Hosea has trouble with a spice he’s never used, and Fabio proves once again he never learned the plural tense. “I love mushroom. I love carrot.” Guest chef Eric “Undead” Ripert (that white hair makes him look like a zombie) advises the chefs on their dishes in a kindly scolding way, and after that, they’re off to present.

The results:
Fabio slightly overcooks his red snapper but more or less nails it
Leah overgingers
Stefans rocks the shit with his baked lobster
Carla kinda sorta nails it
Hosea’s monkfish is deemed “imprecise”
Jamie oversalts her celery to an inedible degree (ha!), to a point the judges blanche mid-chew

Stefan unsurprisingly takes the top prize, and season villain Jamie gets kicked to the curb for her awful celery. The viewers in my little Top Chef party jump for joy at Jamie’s exit, but soon express bewilderment that Carla and Leah are still around. Ah well. There’s always next week.

2 Responses to “Top Chef recap: 2/4”

  1. lattewarrior February 5, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    Not sure we needed an episode completely dedicated to seafood but overall I thought the challenges were great tests of skill. The Elimination Challenge in particular was the toughest to date. As for the results, I hate Jamie’s attitude as much as anyone, but tonight I really thought Leah deserved to be sent home.
    While I’m here, I’d like to apologize to Carla. I really didn’t think she’d last more than a couple of weeks but she’s proven me wrong. She plays to her strengths and doesn’t take herself too seriously. The competition is Stefan’s to lose, but I now find myself hoping Carla fights her way into the Final Four with Stef, Fabio and Hosea.

  2. Dave MN February 5, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    I’d have to say I dislike Leah way more than Jaime. She annoys the hell out of me. I’ve wanted her off the show for about 5 or 6 weeks now. That said, I disliked Lisa from last season about 100,000 times more.

    I think the judges previously gave Carla too much crap for being herself (i.e. all the “cooking with love” talk). She’s become a dark horse in this competition, and I think it’s largely due to the fact that her personality doesn’t lead people to think that she’s a “serious chef”.

    I think Stefan is going to screw up again due to overconfidence. I’m not sure that he’ll make it all the way through to win. As much as I don’t like Hosea, I think he has a really, really good chance of taking it home.

Leave a Reply

