Quick review: Slumdog Millionaire

4 Jan

All that I knew or cared about Slumdog Millionaire before seeing it last week was that Danny Boyle directed it. Boyle, as you may know, is the brains behind Trainspotting, 28 Days Later and Sunshine (one of my favorites from ’07). I love me some Danny Boyle.

However, knowing the man’s catalog, Slumdog didn’t deliver what I was expecting.

I don’t mean that in a negative way, necessarily. While realizing I sound like a pretentious dick here, I’ll simply say it was simpler than I expected. Easier to follow. With Boyle’s past films, you never knew exactly where the movie was headed, weren’t always sure you had everything figured out. His movies have always been difficult, severe, dense. They were heavy as hell, confusing at times, and more than anything, complex.

Not so much with Slumdog. While the story is a unique one –- a Mumbai peasant goes on an inexplicable run on a game show, interspersed with a childhood love story flashback –- and the film offers a deft combo of tenderness and intensity, the plot progresses in a typical, logical arc. What you see is what you get.

Simply put, Slumdog Millionaire is the first of Boyle’s films I’d recommend to my mother. Grade: B

3 Responses to “Quick review: Slumdog Millionaire”

  1. lattewarrior January 4, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    Lattewarrior Princess and I saw Slumdog Millionaire last night. She loved it. I thought it was well above average. I will agree with B. that it was far more predictable than other Boyle offerings but well-engineered nonetheless. The gameshow host was awesome, particularly with his hilarious pronunciation of “millionaire.”

  2. B. January 4, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    Welcome back to ‘Who Wants to Be A Millunay’!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Resolution challenge: final movie update (#s 45-51) - World of B - January 6, 2009

    […] Full review here. Grade: B+ […]

Leave a Reply

