miTunes: best of 2008

4 Jan

My 20 favorite songs of the year (all featured in my miTunes series), in order. Feel free to light up the comments with your own favorites.

1. “Skinny Love” – Bon Iver
2. “L.E.S. Artiste” – Santogold
3. “Sex on Fire” – Kings of Leon
4. “Bounce That” – Girl Talk
5. “White Winter Hymnal” – Fleet Foxes
6. “Furr” – Blitzen Trapper
7. “Day Too Soon” – Sia
8. “You, Me and the Bourgeoisie” – The Submarines
9. “Time to Pretend” – MGMT
10. “Dreams Old Men Dream” – Cold War Kids
11. “That’s Not My Name” – The Ting Tings
12. “I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend…”- The Black Kids
13. “Chicken Payback” – Band of Bees
14. “Ready For the Floor” – Hot Chip
15. “Backwards Walk” – Frightened Rabbit
16. “Sequestered in Memphis” – Hold Steady
17. “Strong Man” – Nino Moschella
18. “Stuck to You” – Nikka Costa
19. “Say Hey (I Love You)” – Michael Franti & Spearhead
20. “Walk on the Wild Side” – Jesse Malin

6 Responses to “miTunes: best of 2008”

  1. RandBall's Stu January 5, 2009 at 8:48 am #

    Here goes nothing:

    1. “Beautiful Beat” – Nada Surf
    2. “Black River Killer” – Blitzen Trapper
    3. “Right Hand On My Heart” – The Whigs
    4. “Acid Tongue” – Jenny Lewis
    5. “Lord, I’m Discouraged” – The Hold Steady
    6. “Consoler of the Lonely” – The Raconteurs
    7. “I’m Amazed” – My Morning Jacket
    8. “Lost Coastlines” – Okkervil River
    9. “Self-Destructive Zones” – Drive-By Truckers
    10. “Man-Sized Wreath” – REM
    11. “Outta Harm’s Way” – King Khan & the Shrines
    12. “Grounds for Divorce” – Elbow
    13. “No Baby I” – Old 97s
    14. “Reservoir Park” – The Duchess and the Duke
    15. “Dig, Lazarus, Dig!” – Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

  2. RandBall's Stu January 5, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    Best Live Song I Heard in 2008 (tie): “Let There Be Rock” – Drive-By Truckers/The Hold Steady; “Battle of Evermore” – Robert Plant & Alison Krauss

    Best Song from a Couple Years Ago that I Started Listening To Nonstop This Year: “Party Hard” – Pulp

    Best Song from 20+ Years Ago That Was Released This Year: “Kiss Me On The Bus (Demo)” – The Replacements

  3. RandBall's Stu January 5, 2009 at 10:52 am #

    Band The Kids Liked That Just Left Me Cold: MGMT

    Band The Kids Liked That I Sorta Enjoyed Even After the Inevitable Hipster Backlash: Vampire Weekend

    Song My 9-Year-Old Liked That I Eventually Gave In To: “Love Lockdown” – Kanye West

  4. lattewarrior January 5, 2009 at 10:24 pm #

    Hot ‘N Cold – Katy Perry
    The Backseat – The Gaslight Anthem
    A Children’s Crusade on Acid – Margot and the Nuclear So-Sos
    Golden Age – TV On the Radio
    Two – The Antlers
    Nine in the Afternoon – Panic at the Disco
    Good Arms vs. Bad Arms – Frightened Rabbit
    Why Do You Let Me Stay Here – She and Him
    Gamma Ray – Beck
    Kids – MGMT
    Only A Song – Ben Sollee (feat. Jim James)
    Hymn #101 – Joe Pug
    Engines – Snow Patrol
    Moab – Conor Oberst
    Swagger – T.I. (feat Lil’ Wayne, Jay-Z and M.I.A.)
    Shake a Fist – Hot Chip
    Tansliterator – DeVotchka
    Scare Easy – Mudcrutch
    Cath – Death Cab for Cutie
    Manhattan – Kings of Leon (this spot could have gone to three or four different songs from Only By the Night, which was my favorite album of 2008)
    I’m Not Over – Carolina Liar
    Right Hand On My Heart – The Whigs (kudos to Stu for reminding me that this came out in 08)
    The Rat – Dead Confederate
    Troublemaker – Weezer
    Violet Hill – Coldplay
    Touch Me I’m Going to Scream (Part I) – My Morning Jacket
    Constructive Summer – The Hold Steady
    Rehab – Rihanna
    If the World – Guns N’ Roses

  5. lattewarrior January 6, 2009 at 9:00 am #

    Forgot…

    Black River Killer – Blitzen Trapper

  6. RandBall's Stu January 6, 2009 at 10:27 am #

    Hey, you can get track #14 from my Top 15 all legal and free-like from the band’s record label: http://hardlyart.com/dutchess_duke.html

    RIYL: 1966 Rolling Stones, an alternate universe where Meg White could sing and harmonize.

Leave a Reply

