This is the end of the innocence

14 Sep

As I’ve said before, John McCain’s selection of Sarah Palin didn’t bother me due to her lack of qualifications (though she is historically unqualified). The bothersome part was that the decision seemed a blatant act of political “strategury” rather than, you know, the logical best person for the job.

Instead of turning to the candidate with the best credentials, McCain (or, more likely, his advisors; I will never believe Palin was actually his first choice) went with the polarizing figure designed to motivate the out-there right rather than unite the country. Palin as a person doesn’t bug me, but the fact that she represents a grenade lobbed in the Democrats’ bunker rather than a policy expert, does.

Nevertheless, up until a few days ago, I was still clinging to the hope that McCain, a supposed despiser of dirty politics, would remain the classy candidate he promised to be, and that he and Obama would trade respectful policy disagreements. In short, to be a decent human being. Wasn’t asking for much.

But now, after the recent “lipstick on a pig” dust-up, I’ve realized it’s back to politics as usual. Which is terrible news. For everyone.

A quick recap: in her RNC speech, Palin made the joke that the only difference between a hockey mom and a pit bull was lipstick, a line more appropriate during a hockey banquet than the fucking RNC, but I digress. A few days later, Barack commented about McCain’s proposed policy changes as putting “lipstick on a pig.” Now, everyone in the world knows Barack was using an old cliché, not referring to Palin. McCain knows that better than anyone, seeing as how he used the cliché before Obama did. (Is your blood pressure rising? Should be.) So what does he and his campaign decide to do?

Yep, you guessed it. He incorrectly, immaturely and totally fucking unethically repurposed the quote to make it seem as if Obama was referring to Palin, though he knows full well it’s a lie. Repeat: John McCain is purposely and egregiously lying to you.

It scares me that those who don’t pay much attention to politics (and who can blame them, really, seeing as how my heart rate is running at about 150 right now) might actually believe this tripe. I’m scared that citizens might actually reconsider their vote due to this commercial. What scares me even more is that this is just the beginning of the McCain camp dirty politics.

Let me say now, for the first time: screw off, McCain, you dirty, lying scumbag. I am done respecting you, done defending you to my liberal friends. You are a shameless, hypocritical jerkoff. I was more or less in your camp when I actually believed your steaming dung pile of being an upstanding politician that put the needs of America above your own interests. You are either completely lying to us, or completely senile to the point you don’t know what you’re doing anymore, and either way, I have lost every iota of respect for you and your two-faced bullshit-spewing campaign.

(Sorry this wasn’t funnier, readers. I’ll exhale soon.)

28 Responses to “This is the end of the innocence”

  1. Jon September 14, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    I’m calling it right now: if you want Obama to win this election, you had better prepare for a very disappointing fall. The LCD has found their rallying point.

  2. Cool Rut September 15, 2008 at 7:11 am #

    McCain wins-the people in CA will not need to vote. In other words-over early and McCain wins. Sorry.

  3. RandBall's Stu September 15, 2008 at 7:31 am #

    Let me say now, for the first time: screw off, McCain, you dirty, lying scumbag.

    And you got to this point without even mentioning their (completely fallacious) ad saying that Obama supports teaching comprehensive sex ed to kindergartners. Impressive.

    Needless to say, I agree with everything you just wrote. For those looking to hold on to hope, Obama does have a fantastic ground operation. At least, that’s what I keep telling myself between shots of absinthe. Sweet, sweet absinthe.

  4. NIH September 15, 2008 at 7:46 am #

    McCain’s ‘100-years in Iraq’ and ‘$5M = rich person’ quotes were equally repurposed by Senator Obama.

    It’s a dirty game that nobody at that level is above.

  5. RandBall's Stu September 15, 2008 at 8:07 am #

    It’s a shame that McCain would rather lose his honor than lose an election.

  6. RandBall's Stu September 15, 2008 at 8:08 am #

    McCain’s ‘100-years in Iraq’ and ‘$5M = rich person’ quotes were equally repurposed by Senator Obama.

    If, by repurposed, you mean “directly quoted,” then yes, at least on the Iraq question.

  7. NIH September 15, 2008 at 8:34 am #

    McCain was referring to being in Iraq for 100-years in the same way that we are still in Germany and Japan. Senator Obama knows this, yet chose to “repurpose” the quote to make it sound like McCain wants us fighting in Iraq for 100-years.

  8. Keith September 15, 2008 at 9:09 am #

    Wow, I love the banter.
    Politics is a dirty dirty profession. I think Presidential politics are especially dirty. My guess is McCain decided the gloves needed to come off once he saw some cracks in the Obama mystique. He is like a boxer who saw an opening and decided to come out with everything he had, including low blows, to try to cripple the opponent past the point of being able to make a comeback. Who knows if it will work. My guess is he figured, like with the Community Organizer line, it would only infuriate people who were already going to vote for Obama anyway.
    Growing up in NYC politics I consider this bland. When stuff is made up out of thin air, rather than twisted, then it will get my attention.

  9. RandBall's Stu September 15, 2008 at 9:15 am #

    When stuff is made up out of thin air, rather than twisted, then it will get my attention.

    You mean like Palin’s Bridge to Nowhere lie and the claims that Obama wants to teach comprehensive sex ed to kindergartners? Will that do?

  10. Keith September 15, 2008 at 9:21 am #

    Wow, I think I saw that Karl Rove was quoting World of B in his denunciation of McCain’s ad, saying he has “gone too far”. He was actually quote as telling McCain to “screw off you dirty, lying scumbag”

  11. RandBall's Stu September 15, 2008 at 9:22 am #

    McCain was referring to being in Iraq for 100-years in the same way that we are still in Germany and Japan.

    So, your defense is that John McCain thinks 100 years in Iraq will be like Germany and Japan. Sheesh. Obama’s doing him a favor by not mentioning that.

    Or, as a professional writer guy said, “McCain wants to stay in Iraq until no more Americans are getting killed, no matter how long it takes and how many Americans get killed achieving that goal–that is, the goal of not getting any more Americans killed. And once that goal is achieved, we’ll stay.”

  12. RandBall's Stu September 15, 2008 at 9:26 am #

    If you want some lies, please go to the non-partisan Factcheck web concern. The rather large proportion of McCain/Palin/RNC falsehoods is…noticeable.

  13. NIH September 15, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    McCain did not say 100 years in Iraq would be like Germany and Japan. He was saying that in 100 years we may still have military bases in Iraq. Just like we still have military bases in Germany and Japan decades after the wars ended there.

    But my overall point was that both sides “repurpose” quotes to their advantage. McCain twisting the “lipstick on a pig” quote is lame and certainly does not put the “Country First”. But I am having a hard time understanding how it is any different than what Senator Obama has done with McCain quotes in the past.

  14. Keith September 15, 2008 at 10:00 am #

    It seems that the bottom line related to FactCheck.org is that both campaigns take extraordinary liberties with the other sides positions and flat out lie about quite a few things.

  15. RandBall's Stu September 15, 2008 at 10:08 am #

    McCain did not say 100 years in Iraq would be like Germany and Japan. He was saying that in 100 years we may still have military bases in Iraq. Just like we still have military bases in Germany and Japan decades after the wars ended there.

    Josh Marshall breaks down the film here. If you’re still willing to argue that Obama or the DNC are “repurposing” McCain’s words by quoting him accurately, I don’t know what else to say.

  16. B. September 15, 2008 at 10:24 am #

    A slight exaggeration about your opponent’s quotes/viewpoints, such as the McCain “100 years” flap? Totally fine, and expected. Complete and utter purposeful lie designed to cover up the real issues at hand: Not fine.

    This isn’t a partisan issue here. If Barack tells such an egregious lie, believe that I’ll be just as angry.

  17. RandBall's Stu September 15, 2008 at 10:29 am #

    I should mention that I’m typing these words while drinking from an Obama ’08 coffee mug. Still, I’m pretty sure I’m right about this.

  18. NIH September 15, 2008 at 10:29 am #

    Senator Obama uses a clip from a McCain speech, without further context, within an ad. They may be quoting McCain accurately, but without the further context the quote becomes twisted.

    Reasonable people can disagree on if a post-war military presence in Iraq, similar to Germany and Japan, would be favorable to the US. But rather than debate the merits of McCain’s proposal, the Obama camp uses the quote to misrepresent its true meaning. And its done on both sides.

  19. RandBall's Stu September 15, 2008 at 10:38 am #

    Reasonable people can disagree on if a post-war military presence in Iraq, similar to Germany and Japan, would be favorable to the US.

    Depends. If you’re an American, that sounds kind of awesome, since it’s so far away from where we are now that you may as well wish for Narnia while you’re at it. If you’re an Iraqi, I imagine it sucks, unless we’ve invaded the one country on earth that welcomes unjustified invasion and indefinite occupation.

  20. NIH September 15, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    If they invaded Narnia, I couldn’t serve. I could not rise above making jokes about Mr. and Mrs. Beaver.

  21. Keith September 15, 2008 at 11:39 am #

    B, while virtuous, I think your a little idealistic about the political landscape. Outright lying is a part of politics. Sound bites are what allows voters to make up their minds, and is the primary tool towards getting the word out on your opponent. It sucks, but the alternative is people actually learning about the candidates and making an “informed decision”. For a country that lives off of Survivor and American Idol I can’t see that happening. That doesn’t mean we can’t rant about how much it sucks, it just means we shouldn’t expect better (sadly).
    With this being your first real chance to get excited about a candidate (deducing from your age vs. the candidate of John Kerry and possibley Al Gore) I understand your dissapointment. I have had that same feeling the last two weekends while watching the VIkes. As a newcomer to the area I have really had high expectations and been really disappointed after thier losses. The community around me has little sympathy to my feelings. They give me a simple, “That is sports in MN, get used to it” and have me go on my way. I had a very idealistic post last year in response to a post (possibly by Randball) that talked about failures in MN sports. I said it is better to have loved and lost than to have never loved (context being me in rural VA away from any pro sports for 15 years). May did I get pissed on by the readership.

  22. B. September 15, 2008 at 9:59 pm #

    Sure, I may be asking a bit too much, but this was undeniably the dirtiest move (yes, there were many others) thus far on the campaign trail. I can’t just shrug and offer the defeatist “this is just business as usual” outlook. I’m not disillusioned enough. Not yet anyway. Give me a week or two.

    In any event, it was nice to see we were able to keep the discussion civilized. A rare feat these days. Thanks all.

  23. Dave MN September 16, 2008 at 11:30 am #

    I have a question that I haven’t really seen answered anywhere. Do the polls that are coming out account for people who have never before voted in an election? If not, I think we’re looking at totally incorrect numbers when it comes to how this race is coming together. Considering what I saw during the primaries, Obama has more young voters and people who haven’t voted before taking action. I think this might result in a “gotcha” moment for everyone come election day.

  24. Cool Rut September 16, 2008 at 2:57 pm #

    Dave MN-I like the positive attitude but Obama is no Jesse Ventura.

  25. RandBall's Stu September 16, 2008 at 3:07 pm #

    Thank Christ.

  26. Keith September 16, 2008 at 8:43 pm #

    I do think that Dave MN brings up an important point. Many of the younger generation voters done have landline phones in which all surveys and polls are pulled from. That could account for a bump in Obama numbers.
    As someone who thinks highly of their own prognostication ability, and feels like he is open minded for an evangelical (i can only be so open minded with that whole absolute truth thing hanging over me) I understand the whole McCain bump and how polls are showing it pretty tight. But…are you Obama supporters kidding me? You really think Obama has a chance of not winning this election? Or are you just being modest? Seriously, regardless of what polls show do you really think it will be this close, and McCain could win?

  27. B. September 16, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    I can easily scare myself into believing McCain could steal this one, but the rationalist in me sees Obama taking over the polls after the first debate and never looking back.

    Still, I won’t pretend I’m not pants-pissing terrified of the Republican strategists.

  28. Dave MN September 19, 2008 at 10:58 am #

    We Shocked the World!

Leave a Reply

