Local (guitar) hero makes us proud, maybe

13 Aug

Below is the video of Chris Chike, a kid from Rochester, Minn. who is reportedly the best Guitar Hero player in the world (seriously). Sure, right now you’re thinking, “OK, great, whatever,” but once you see the footage I’m pretty sure you’ll agree with me that this kid deserves a Nobel Prize. Not sure what category; Physics, possibly? Doesn’t matter. Just watch.

8 Responses to “Local (guitar) hero makes us proud, maybe”

  1. Gates August 13, 2008 at 6:44 pm #

    Wow. I wonder how much time this kid has put into Guitar Hero. Regardless, it was impressive, almost unreal. My favorite part (if you can stand watching the entire 8 minutes) is at the end when the dude keeps saying “holy shit” for like 35 seconds.

  2. Gates August 13, 2008 at 6:46 pm #

    This dude should probably try and pick up a real guitar. I know it’s way different, but he’s obviously got the ‘moving fingers really fast’ part down. Isn’t that half the battle? But then again, who wants to play a real guitar when he can just play a video game to get into girls pants?

  3. Cool Rut August 13, 2008 at 8:48 pm #

    Dude was amazing. You know what I was thinking as I watched this long video? I was thinking of- How long ago do you think it was when a person could have spoken the cliche “that and a quarter will get you a Pioneer Press”. Meaning that skill does not translate to making a living. The old Pinball wizard, Tommy, only made about $10,000 at his peak. That is about $5000 in today dollars. BUT this dude could parlay this little video into some large change if he do things right, you know what I am sayin’? BTW-Gates this dude could get in my pants anyday.

  4. Cool Rut August 13, 2008 at 8:56 pm #

    Another thing I was thinking is -“why the heck do I keep thinking of the old Gopher/Twin/A Brent Gates -when I read that moniker.

  5. Gates August 13, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    No, no, no…I’m a much better pitcher than that Gates.

  6. B. August 14, 2008 at 7:36 am #

    I believe the old saying was “that and a quarter will get you a cup of coffee.” This stems from the old Greek phrase “that and a quarter will get you a wench.” Times were different back then, that’s for sure.

  7. Numero 6 August 14, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click

    -sounds awesome!

  8. B. August 14, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    Numero 6 – I love that song you just referenced. That was the acoustic version, right?

    Still my favorite South Park ever.

Leave a Reply

