I'm back I'm back I'm back I'm back

25 Jun

hacker.gif“Hacked by GHoST61.” Man, that was a fun experience.

I wish I could accurately describe the feeling of dread that follows your site getting hacked. Most of you non-bloggers probably don’t understand. I don’t expect you to. But I’ll tell you, when I conducted my daily ritual of checking my site this morning to both read my own words and lament the lack of comments (such a grand tradition), and saw the hacker’s message, I was crushed.

In all seriousness and lack of hyperbole: crushed. Imagine being in the midst of a novel, and walking into your office to see the pages blowing out the window, and you have to stand there helplessly and watch it all happen. That’s the best I can describe it. I figured I’d be able to regain control of the site eventually, but wasn’t sure if I’d be able to recover the lost files. Envisioned them flying out the window, lost in cyberspace forever. Am I being dramatic? Probably. But I’ll admit: those files, for all their mistakes and hacky jokes and lame ideas, are everything to me.

By now you know the good news: the archives are all there. The deep sea fishing piece, the Peter Gabriel post, the miTunes, everything. Still intact. Rejoice.

I’ll soon return you to the regularly scheduled programming of juvenile nonsense, but I wanted to take a brief reprive to provide an update, to explain the experience, and, mostly, to exhale.

3 Responses to “I'm back I'm back I'm back I'm back”

  1. Jon June 25, 2008 at 11:28 pm #

    Mostly, I’m just typing this so you’ll have a comment in the morning. But I’m glad you got everything back – it could have been worse….

  2. Sedge Thompson June 26, 2008 at 5:35 am #

    I thought this was a pro-gun toting amphibious land dwelling bird site? A place where a man could see a penguin with a machine gun while professing his love for his boo…

    Anyhow, I love you Ztephanie

  3. Cool Rut June 26, 2008 at 3:30 pm #

    Did Minimally Invested survive? Been searching to no avail.

Leave a Reply

