What to watch: Top Chef finale

11 Jun

lisatopchef.jpgY’all know what time it is: time for this season’s Top Chef finale. (You’ve been watching, right? Yes. You have. Of course you have.) Your last remaining contestants are the talented and gracious Richard, the talented and gracious Stephanie, and…Lisa. Isn’t Lisa the best?

No. No, she isn’t. She’s actually the worst.

To help prove the point, you can take a looksie at Dan Hopper’s skewering over at the Best Week Ever blog. I’ll go a step further and pull some of my favorite excerpts from Lisa’s recent interview over at the NY Daily News:

When asked “You’ve been watching the show and following some of the stuff online?” Lisa responded:

Oh no, I don’t read the blogs – you couldn’t pay me to read the blogs. I don’t want to know what people who can’t even afford to eat in my restaurant, let alone know how to cook have to say about me, and the few comments I did read on Eater.com a few weeks back because my job asked me to read ’em. The best they could come up with was that I was ugly.

For one thing, I’ve been reading the blogs as well, and we’ve been coming up with a lot more insightful observations than her unattractiveness. And for another: people who choose to blog automatically can’t afford to eat in nice restaurants? People like, oh I don’t know, Anthony Bourdain? Lisa’s delusional dim-wittedness is pretty hilarious.

When responding to those many, many, many critics, Lisa responded with:

For every person on the show, every person has a character that they fall into. And they needed a villain, and they made me the villain, and you know what, it’s fine, ’cause I got tons of air time, people recognize me, and you know, last night at the A-List Awards and at the after-party, everybody that came up to me – which was, like, a lot of people – loved me for my attitude and being firm and strong about my beliefs and my food.

Beliefs? What beliefs did she stand up for? The belief in egregious negativity? Being in the bottom two every week? Swearing like a drunken lesbian? I’m confused. And still laughing at these delusions of grandeur.

Finally, when asked about watching herself on TV and whether she has learned anything from the experience, Lisa weirdly lashes out again with:

No matter what the blogs say about me not taking into consideration about what the judges tell me, or that I don’t respond well to criticism, that’s not true.

Yeah, clearly.

(I’ll stick with my prediction from the season premiere: Richard wins.)

4 Responses to “What to watch: Top Chef finale”

  1. JLH June 11, 2008 at 12:27 pm #

    I fucking hate Lisa.

  2. The Murph June 11, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    Richard Wins!?!

    Yeah, right…1 guy against 2 girls in a cooking competition!?!

    That reminds me of a joke I heard awhile back…I think it went something like this

    Q – How many women own a wrist-watch?

    A – Zero, the stove has a clock on it

    Still funny…

    The show has sucked ever since Andrew lost his culinary boner.

  3. Carlos Mencia June 11, 2008 at 4:35 pm #

    Great joke murph.

  4. Cool Rut June 11, 2008 at 4:38 pm #

    The funniest thing just happened to me. I was picking my nose at my desk and after I got the bastard out, I did what I always do – Roll it for a few minutes and then flick it. Only this time, I made a wild flick and the dude on the other side of the wall-said “what the hell, something just hit me in the forehead. There has to be some lesson here.

Leave a Reply

