This man-crush is of the boundless variety

3 Jun

barack.jpg

Congratulations to Senator Barack Obama, who today wrapped up the Presidential nomination over Hillary Rodham Clinton. Barack’s victory speech here in Saint Paul was so incredible my goosebumps had goosebumps; I had to repeatedly fan myself and tuck it in the waistband and had to be physically stopped by my roommate Norm from getting into my car, driving to the Xcel Center and worming my way through the masses to find Barack and kiss him on the mouth or tackle him or at least shake his hand, something, because goddamn what an inspirational guy. A leader. Uniter. Even those who don’t share his policy viewpoints have to give it up for his intelligence, integrity and charisma. I’d like to ask that we all take a few seconds to consider how lucky we are to be able to vote for a man like him.

OK, that’s enough. Just a few seconds is all. Now, I’d like to present you with a link sent by the aforementioned roommate: a story from NPR’s “Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me” show about Barack Obama apologizing to a reporter. The story runs from 12:10 until 15:30 at the attached link. If you’ve got three minutes, have a listen. Send it on to friends. I didn’t think it was possible, but it made me like the guy more. Enjoy.

2 Responses to “This man-crush is of the boundless variety”

  1. BreAnne June 5, 2008 at 1:43 pm #

    I actually went down to the arena and can attest that the 2.5 hour wait in line, in addition to the near full cavity search at the door, was well worth the outcome. The crowd was passionate and energetic, and the variety in his supporters is absolutely amazing. It’s inspiring to watch everyone from younger teens to senior citizens become excited about politics again.

    For the record, I also wanted to storm the stage, but I’m not sure if it was to publically maul the next President with affection, or to steal his wife’s adorable purple dress.

  2. B. June 6, 2008 at 8:02 am #

    Lucky you. I believe you deserve a presidential fist pound for that.

Leave a Reply

