HIMYM recap – "Sandcastles in the Sand"

22 Apr

robin.jpgFans of “How I Met Your Mother”: if you feel like reading along, I’d like to take a few minutes to gripe about this past Monday’s episode entitled “Sandcastles in the Sand.” For those of you who haven’t yet seen the ep but are planning on a future viewing, I’ll put my thoughts after the jump to shelter you from the obvious spoilers.

For the most part, I enjoyed the episode. Lily’s “revertigo” behavior was a bit too over-the-top to be viewed as anything more than silly, but the phenomenon observation was right on, and Robin’s performance during the major storyline was top-notch. Cobie Smulders is the shizz. (James Van Der Beek’s accent, however: was that Canadian, or Scottish? Yeesh.)

But none of that matters to me, because the episode’s last few seconds showed the worst plot progression in HIMYM history: the kiss between Robin and Barney. Not a fan. Not. A. Fan. (Disclaimer: this is under the assumption the kiss becomes a major issue in the upcoming weeks, rather than a throwaway “hey, this crazy thing happened for about five seconds before we came to our senses.” Which I’m hoping to hell it is.) I see this as a major misstep – a desperate move of a show trying in vain to avoid the ax – that just brought my enjoyment of the show down a HUGE notch.

Why? Simple. Because IT WOULD NEVER HAPPEN IN REAL LIFE. Never. Not between level-headed late twentysomethings, as these characters clearly are supposed to be. Robin would never in a million years stoop so low as messing around with skirt-chasing STD-carrier Barney, and Barney would never make a move on his best friend’s ex-girlfriend. This might (and, well, usually does) happen in a group of high-schoolers, or possibly less responsible, more desperate souls. But not these guys. If this were real life, the group would immediately disband – Ted would do everything in his power to pound Barney within an inch of his life, and he’d loudly, repeatedly, publicly decry Robin as the biggest whore in all the land. Tears would be shed, days and weeks and months of lives would be ruined — or at least dampened. Something tells me we won’t be seeing anything resembling this sort of angst on HIMYM, which will prove to further push this show away from believability.

After seeing the kiss, I immediately thought of “Friends” (the thought immediately spurred a deep shudder), a once-funny show whose characters morphed into the exact people the show originally sought to make fun of. The downslide began when Monica and Chandler hooked up, ostensibly because the show’s writers decided it’d be too damn difficult to introduce a new character to a show. Then, just to outdo themselves, they decided to have two other characters – Rachel and Joey – hook up, one of the most laughably ridiculous subplots in television history (I’m embarrassed I watched this show). I’m still half-convinced the “Friends’” writers had a pool going to see how many retarded storylines they could conceive and still remain on the air. It’s the only explanation, really.

Now, clearly, “Friends” was a dumb show. As are most sitcoms. But HIMYM is in a better class; both funnier and smarter. And until last night’s completely-implausible, ridiculous, desperate plot twist, I’d’ve said it felt almost real, that it was the only show on TV that represented (in, yes, a necessarily censored manner) my age group and lifestyle; those transition years between campus life and adulthood. And while I will hold out final judgment until the plot unfolds next week, for the first time this series, I’m not excited where this show is heading.

The end.

(This is the part where you telepathically tell me, “B, calm down, fella. It’s just a freaking TV show, and sometimes, with the combination of alcohol and vulnerability, shit happens. It might have been a one-minute session that concluded with Robin and Barney laughing it off, and life would more or less go on. It’s not like they’re going to date, necessarily. But mostly, remember the part about this just being a TV show. Chill out.” At which point I’d telepathically reply, “I know, friend, and thanks for the concern. I’m not, like, actually worked up at all, just vaguely bummed out that a show I look forward to watching each week took a bummer of a plot twist. I’m cautiously hoping the kiss was a one-time thing and will be something of a joke. Which would be fine. We’ll have to see.”)

7 Responses to “HIMYM recap – "Sandcastles in the Sand"”

  1. funter April 23, 2008 at 12:20 am #

    I couldn’t agree more. This “twist” is ruining the best comedy on TV.

  2. Obi-Wan Kenobi April 23, 2008 at 7:46 am #

  3. Obi-Wan Kenobi April 23, 2008 at 7:48 am #

    B, calm down, fella. It’s just a freaking TV show, and sometimes, with the combination of alcohol and vulnerability, shit happens. It might have been a one-minute session that concluded with Robin and Barney laughing it off, and life would more or less go on. It’s not like they’re going to date, necessarily. But mostly, remember the part about this just being a TV show. Chill out.

  4. B. April 23, 2008 at 7:51 am #

    I know, Obi-Wan, and thanks for the concern. I’m not, like, actually worked up at all, just vaguely bummed out that a show I look forward to watching each week took a bummer of a plot twist. I’m cautiously hoping the kiss was a one-time thing and will be something of a joke. Which would be fine. We’ll have to see.

  5. AZGopherGirl April 23, 2008 at 4:08 pm #

    You’re so right, guy. I was diggin the Sandcastles in the Sand video and the kiss just really brought me down. I remember reading how Barney was dogging the Britney Spears appearance in the press as a gimmick the show didn’t need. This has to be freaking him out. Which should give us hope that there will be a twist.

  6. Cool Rut April 25, 2008 at 7:51 am #

    First, John Gordon and now Friends. I used to bemoan the fact that you have immersed yourself in your new friends and have little time for the extended family, but not anymore. When I tell Ellie about her cousins, I will say it all started with Mandy and then a few years down the road little Brookie came along.

  7. BreAnne April 25, 2008 at 11:40 am #

    Man, I missed this episode due to some work travels, but it sounds like your ‘Friends’ comparison is spot on. And I agree; it’s a bummer when a smart show turns to these types of implausible gimmicks for any reason, be it ratings or sheer laziness. Considering the crap that’s on TV these days, I don’t think it’s ridiculous for fans to expect more from the writers.

    I hope they air this online, I really want to watch it now…

Leave a Reply

