The Cooler: This week in…

5 Feb

michaelvick.jpgSUPER BOWL RECAPS: The best one, for my money, came from Randball. An unforgettable game. I remain plumb flabbergasted.

FURNITURE: I believe this chair was inspired by the anatomy of Whoopi Goldberg.

TIRED PERSONAS: Will Ferrell’s character from the upcoming movie Semi-Pro, whose name, I believe, is “Ron Burgundy.” Or “Ricky Bobby.” Or “pretty much everything else he’s ever done.” Can’t quite recall. But it’s definitely one of those. (Please tell me I’m not the only person sick of this guy.)

READABLE LISTS: I fully enjoyed reading Radar’s list of 50 most genuine-seeming celebrities. Probably every celebrity I actually like and respect is included in the 50.

THINGS I’VE ALREADY DONE: Deleted my MySpace account. You should, too. Easiest decision I made during the past year, save for linking to that furniture listing above.

VIDEOS:Cracked.com’s Take” can’t stop, won’t stop, bringing the funny.

“ONLY IN AMERICA” NEWS: Michael Vick received some good news this week: he will get to keep approximately $20 million in bonuses paid to him by the Atlanta Falcons. Hopefully this will offset the bad news that he’ll be forced to blow inmate #403021 for the next 16 months or so. The judge that made this decision evidently doesn’t understand the rules in this country: when you get sent to jail, you don’t pass go and you don’t collect money. Come on, fella, everyone knows that.

WORST NEWS OF THE WEEK: My friend-in-spirit Trevor posted some shockingly depressing news: The Format has broken up. [Pause for horrified gasps from the audience.] I know, I know. This is seriously the worst music-related news I’ve heard in a damn long while. Love, love, love that band. Can you hear me? Are you listening? This is the sound of my heart breaking*.

And with that, I’m out.

* Lyrics from best single of 2006.

2 Responses to “The Cooler: This week in…”

  1. Cool Rut February 6, 2008 at 12:25 pm #

    It isn’t funny to ruin something beautiful by mentioning Whoppi. Did anyone else notice that the man in the canoe has no hood?

  2. Grandpa J February 6, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    I feel like the list of the most genuine-seeming celebrities is in direct contradiction to an article (http://www.armchairnews.com/freelance/eggers.html) which has been a multi post and discussed at length. But the list directly refers to celebs being “real”.

Leave a Reply

