New WoB feature: Kneejerk Favorites

30 Jan

kneejerk.gifI’m unveiling yet another new feature here at the World of B, this one entitled “Kneejerk Favorites.” I’ll explain the rules, which are so simple even I understand them: I will suggest a “name your favorite” something-or-other topic, and you offer your answers using as little time as possible. This is meant as a conversation starter, and shouldn’t – nay, can’t – include any research. You hear the topic, you choose whatever pops in your head.

Today’s topic: favorite song lines.

I’ll give a few of my top-of-mind favorite lyrics, and you can offer yours either in the comments, or discuss amongst yourselves. Remember, minimal deliberation allowed; say, five minutes max.

“If you say that there’s no truth, and who cares / How come you say it like you’re right?”

– “We Are Nowhere And It’s Now” by Bright Eyes

“The ashtray says you were up all night”

– “Shot In The Arm” by Wilco

“You realize the sun doesn’t go down / it’s just an illusion caused by the world spinning round

– “Do You Realize” by the Flaming Lips (Not necessarily my favorite line, but definitely the best song lyrics.)

“I guess you don’t need it, I guess you don’t need me to repeat it / But everything I have to give, I’ll give to you.”

– “Shelter” by Ray LaMontagne (Now this, this is my favorite line.)

11 Responses to “New WoB feature: Kneejerk Favorites”

  1. The Murph January 31, 2008 at 6:26 am #

    Everytime I hear this song it makes me laugh, the whole song is hilarious, but my favortie line has to be…

    John Prine – “In Spite of Ourselves”

    “…He ain’t too sharp but he gets things done,
    Drinks his beer like it’s oxygen”

  2. Norm January 31, 2008 at 9:14 am #

    “…low life your life boy we livin’ it up”
    -Snoop Dogg “smoke weed everyday”

    Oh that Snoop … he is such an artisan. I love that part.

  3. TK January 31, 2008 at 10:33 am #

    Off the top of my head,

    -Jay Z’s “Big Pimpin'”

    “Go read a book you illiterate son of a bitch . . . ”

    It really makes you thinks, because is that even possible? If said son of a bitch is really illiterate, he can’t read a book, that’s like telling a man to give birth.

  4. Hanson January 31, 2008 at 10:51 am #

    How could HD not make the list? HOW COULD YOU B!

    Hüsker Dü – Sorry Somehow

    “There’s no need to talk to you, well to know what’s on your mind
    There’s no need to see you either, no, I’m just being kind
    You want me to beg forgiveness, tender an apology
    It’s not my fault and you’re not getting one from me”

    Why? Cause it’s okay to just not care sumtimz. Being a Right Sumbitch is just fine with me Sir!

  5. BreAnne January 31, 2008 at 11:55 am #

    I love this line from ‘All Hands on the Bad One’ by Sleater-Kinney:

    You can’t get to heaven in your Sunday best/ the night before you were callin’ it your cocktail dress

    They have a lot of hidden gems, the more I think about it…

  6. Grandpa J January 31, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    Give me on more platinum plaque, then f&*k rap you can have it back- Dr. Dre, Forgot bout Dre

    Great line! And I love the motion in the knee jerk pic. You dedication to you craft inspires me!

  7. MJ February 1, 2008 at 8:55 am #

    “…the sun’s not yellow, it’s chicken…” -Bob Dylan, Tombstone Blues

  8. stinger February 1, 2008 at 2:54 pm #

    why don’t we get drunk and screw?

  9. Cool Rut February 1, 2008 at 9:41 pm #

    That Sleater-Kinney line is really freakin’ wonderful.

  10. Gates February 2, 2008 at 7:04 pm #

    “She closes her mouth to speak and
    She closes her eyes to see
    Thought about, not understood
    She’s achin’ to be”
    -Replacements

  11. ????? August 18, 2008 at 11:13 pm #

    ??, ???? ?? ??????, ???? ? ? ????????? ?? ???? ??? ??????? …

Leave a Reply

