The tube: 10/29 – 11/2

28 Oct

raising_arizona.jpgIn what I hope becomes a weekly feature here on the famous WoB, below is a guide to what’s on TV the upcoming week. Take a ganders and set your DV-Rs accordingly.

All times are CST.

MONDAY

6:00 pm – Barack Obama dialogue – MTV

7:00 pm – How I Met Your Mother – ABC (one of the best shows on TV, firing on all cylinders so far this season.)

7:30 – MNF Green Bay Packers @ Denver Broncos – ESPN (I’m hoping the Favre of the past few years – you know the one, the “gunslinger” who was good for about five hilarious ill-advised desperation throws each game – shows up. Lot of fun, that guy. )

8:00 pm – Traffic – Bravo

8:00 pm – Mystic River – HBO

TUESDAY

6:00 pm – E:60 – ESPN (Haven’t seen this new show yet, but it’s received surprisingly decent reviews.)

7:00 pm – Edward Scissorhands – Encore

7:00 pm – NBA Portland Trailblazers @ San Antonio Spurs – TNT (Just kidding; this one isn’t worth your time. I just threw this one in to further bum out the Blazers fans who’re still not over Oden’s injury. You guys were totally relevant for a couple weeks there!)

9:00 pm – The Office – TBS (Back-to-back repeats. Solid.)

WEDNESDAY

9:30 pm – Seattle Supersonics vs. Denver Nuggets – ESPN (This one actually is worth checking out – wunderkind Kevin Durant up against my favorite baller AI.)

11:30 pm – Nick Swardson on Jimmy Kimmel Live – ABC

THURSDAY

7:00 pm – Rounders – WGN

8:00 pm – The Office – NBC

9:00 pm – Phoenix Suns vs. Seattle Supersonics – TNT

10:30 pm – Ryan Adams on David Letterman – CBS

10:30 pm – Erotic Traveler – Cinemax (I have no idea what this is, but damn if that title isn’t intriguing.)

FRIDAY

7:00 pm – The Godfather II – A&E (Still nowhere near the quality of the original, but an amazing movie nonetheless. A great idea for anyone with four hours to kill on a Friday night. Tune in to A&E, losers!)

7:00 pm – The Office (UK version) – BBC (This is the series’ hourlong finale; one of the best hours of television ever, in my opinion.)

7:00 pm – Raising Arizona – CMT

8:00 pm – Friday Night Lights – NBC (Possibly the best network show in ’06 is struggling to relocate the magic this year. I’m willing to stick out a few more episodes in the hopes it gets turned around. Are you?)

9:30 pm – Flight of the Conchords – Comedy Central (This is running on Comedy Central now? Was I supposed to know this?)

Happy boob-tubing, all.

8 Responses to “The tube: 10/29 – 11/2”

  1. Norm October 29, 2007 at 11:13 am #

    What? No OC re-runs? Keepin’ those for yourself?

    Note to readers: half of B’s DV-R is filled with OC re-runs from the Soap Opera Network. That’s 14 episodes per week.

  2. cooler rut October 29, 2007 at 5:36 pm #

    the OC is the best show of the decade, im not sure if norm was making fun or was just stating a fact for the hell of it but that show deserves every spot on dv-r!!! so there..

  3. B. October 31, 2007 at 8:18 pm #

    That settles it, Norm: you are the worst roommate ever. And this is coming from a guy who once had a former roommate throw an entire frozen pizza at him. Sing it with me now, “Roommate fallout, here we cooooooooooome.”

  4. andrea November 1, 2007 at 5:43 pm #

    great list…

    ryan adams FO’ SHO’ tonight… can’t wait!

    raising arizona – anytime, anyplace.

    the office, uk us= THE BEST.

  5. BreAnne November 2, 2007 at 10:51 am #

    I feel the need to defend the first two seasons of the OC…it was a really good show! The last two seasons are on their own, though.

    I’m still laughing at Monday’s How I Met Your Mother, I’m so glad a friend of mine turned me onto that show this year.

    But most importantly, I have to disagree about Friday Night Lights. Though not as good as last year, I still think it’s one of the best shows on TV. As far as recapturing the magic…I think I felt it when Coach Taylor put on his Panthers hat. But that might have something to do with the fact that I’m mildly obsessed with Kyle Chandler.

    My God, this comment makes me realize that I might need more friends.

  6. Norm November 2, 2007 at 2:41 pm #

    For the record I am a big OC fan. I have seen every episode. Also, Seth/Summer are two of my favorite all-time TV characters. So everyone, collectively calm down. We all know this website preaches only good things about the OC.

    My more subtle reference was that B records the OC, yet owns the first three seasons on DVD. Why you ask? He is obviously crazy.

    Finally, I don’t appreciate you watching the Hills in your whitey tighties anymore. It’s just not right.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Heartland Wisdom — 2008 president candidates - November 9, 2007

    […] 6:00 pm Barack Obama dialogue – MTV 7:00 pm – How I Met Your Mother – ABC (one of the best shows on TV, firing on all cylinders so far this season. … 7:30 MNF Green Bay Packers @ Denver Broncos – ESPN (Im hoping the Favre of the past few years – you know the one, the g… source: The tube: 10/29 – 11/2, World of B, presented by Brandon Broxey […]

  2. The tube: 10/29 - 11/2 — 2008 president candidates - December 11, 2007

    […] – ESPN (Im hoping the Favre of the past few years – you know the one, the g… source: The tube: 10/29 – 11/2, World of B, presented by Brandon […]

Leave a Reply

