Let me link you up and down ('til you say stop)

27 Aug

oldpeoplehands.jpgA few grabs from around the web…

>> I know almost everyone quoted in this story about the 1994 Brooklyn Center little league team. I promise Jermar Larkins is cooler than he comes off in the article. For instance, I can all but guarantee that “I’ve always been a winner. I don’t know how to lose” was said in jest. That, or he was drunk. Gotta be one or the other.

>> Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind director Michael Gondry has a new film coming out in January. It stars Jack Black and Mos Def, and the trailer is pretty funny. Zany as hell, obviously, but at the same time the subject matter looks to provide some accessible humor.

>> Have you had any horrifying mental images yet today? No? Want some?

>> Though it hasn’t yet been confirmed, reports are that Owen Wilson’s hospital visit is from a suicide attempt. Which seems almost impossible, doesn’t it? If I had to make a list of celebrities least likely to attempt to commit suicide, Wilson would’ve been on that list. It would have been him, Tom Hanks and George Clooney. Suicide attempts are for the Andy Dicks, the Courtney Loves, the Lindsay Lohans of the world. Not goofy laidback fellas like Wilson. Just strange. I’m itching with morbid curiosity to find out the reasons for his alleged attempt.

>> So, this video of the Miss Teen USA hopeful from South Carolina got around in a hurry. The pageant just aired Friday (I know because I watched it with a buddy – but with the sound off like every other straight male) and already the video’s been viewed by over two million people. I understand the appeal because it’s a funny, fairly harmless trainwreck of a quote, but I don’t think she can automatically be summed up as the town dunce. She panicked on national television after being asked a (mostly) unanswerable question. So what. I still say George Bush’s “fool me once” gaffe was a million times worse. Right?

2 Responses to “Let me link you up and down ('til you say stop)”

  1. Cool Rut August 28, 2007 at 12:08 pm #

    My memory of Jermar was when he was serving the hot dogs at the welcome home party. The hot dog I grabbed was attached to his body. Classic move for a guy proud of his hot dog.

  2. Mike November 26, 2007 at 3:32 pm #

    Who write this blog?

Leave a Reply

