More music for your ears

19 Jun

hype_machine_top.gifMy favorite DJ and internet friend Barb Abney recently directed me (and, indirectly, you) to an mp3 blog entitled The Hype Machine. I checked it out and, sure enough, it’s a great resource. Within five minutes, I’d downloaded tracks by Spoon, Wreckless Eric, M. Ward, The Shout Out Louds and Petra Haden. With this site and elbo.ws at my disposal, Barb shouldn’t be surprised if I begin campaigning for a DJ gig. I of course don’t deserve such a position, but lack of qualifications hasn’t exactly stopped me before — you all heard about the creep that jumped out of Ron Gardenhire’s front bushes with a boombox strapped to his chest playing that “Put Me In, Coach” song, right? Yeah. That was me.

ANYway, many thanks to Barb for the suggestion. Be sure to listen her from 9-noon each weekday on The Current.

(Also, your assignment this week is to pick up The White Stripes’ “Icky Thump,” released today. To be discussed soon.)

Leave a Reply

