Today's list: instant gratification/eventual letdown

30 May
biz.jpgA passing comment made in a BWE post last week sparked an interesting idea for a list. The blog noted Spoon’s “I Turn My Camera On” as one of the best “I like this song [30 seconds pass] Alright, that’s enough” songs of all time. which made me wonder what other songs might belong on such a list.

Below are a few tracks that came to mind — though, try as I might, I couldn’t think of a more fitting selection than “I Turn My Camera On.” I’ve listened to that song probably a hundred times; a hundred times I’ve eagerly cranked the volume after hearing the opening notes…and a hundred times I’ve turned to the next song halfway through. Shame, that.

“Just a Friend” – Biz Markie (also a first ballot Hall of Famer on the hypothetical “Songs That Are More Fun to Sing than Actually Hear” list.)

“Earthquakes and Sharks” – Brandtson (bonus points for being semi-obscure, but not half as fun as the beginning seems to hint.)

“Go!” – Common (refuses to go! anywhere.)

“Rebel Rebel” – David Bowie

“Boyz in the Hood” – Dynamite Hack (the “humorous” irony of this song — it’s an acoustic version of that NWA song sung by white dudes ha that’s friggin’ genius! — lasts about 30 seconds max, unless you’re a tool, in which case you probably still laugh at this dumb tune.)

“A Sunday Kind of Love” – Etta James (unless she’s referring to a Sunday in which promising melodies bore me to a midday nap on the couch.)

“All Alone” – Gorillaz

“Hate to Say I Told You So” – The Hives

“Trees” – Lovehammer (pretty great pop tune until the lead singer Marty starts freaking out and ruins the buzz.)

“I’ll Call Before I Come” – Outkast

“Waiting For Somebody” – Paul Westerberg (A close second behind Spoon for the top honor. Still excites me at the beginning, still bores me in a hurry.)

“Backseat” – The Sights

“As” – Stevie Wonder (could have been one of the best, but Stevie just refuses to end this song. It’s seven minutes. Seven! You know that old children’s rhyme from the sea. But really, this song is possibly the best example of Stevie’s ocassional tendency towards the bloated that can turn people off. I’m not in this camp, but I can understand the argument.)

“Dopenose” – Weezer

Got any others? Feel free to discuss.

7 Responses to “Today's list: instant gratification/eventual letdown”

  1. Mac Wilson May 30, 2007 at 11:59 pm #

    Wow. Some of these are totally true. I need to rack my brain and see if I can come up with any more.

  2. Cool Rut May 31, 2007 at 6:45 am #

    Help me out here. It has my favorite line from one of my favorite bands but the song get old and irritating to me in a hurry. “The ashtray says you been up all night” is the line, and Wilco is the band.

  3. Sheriff May 31, 2007 at 2:37 pm #

    “Right Now” ~ Van Halen

    Only because the only time you actually hear this song is before the fourth quarter of a T-Wolves game, or any other sporting event… and they just don’t have the time to get through all of Eddie Van Halen’s virtuoso guitar wanking…

    Also, you don’t get to hear the whole song when watching the SNL Crystal Clear Gravy sketch…

  4. Ms. Minneapolis May 31, 2007 at 4:54 pm #

    this is hard. i’m stumped. although the headline sounds like most relationships i’ve been in. i might steal that from you b, so don’t throw a lawsuit against my poor a**

  5. Joel May 31, 2007 at 9:53 pm #

    The entire Fratellis CD. Each song goes from fun to exhausting in 30 seconds flat.

  6. Brandon May 31, 2007 at 10:32 pm #

    Cool Rut: the Wilco song is “Shot in the Arm,” though your opinion that it belongs on this list — and I’m pretty sure Mac will back me up on this one — is just plain wrong. Yeah, I said it: opinion=wrong. That song rocks.

    Joel: agreed, though I will say my one exception would be Baby Fratelli. Of course, that may just be because it was featured in the film Hot Fuzz, and Hot Fuzz was crazy good.

  7. LeemDream June 1, 2007 at 5:50 pm #

    Well, I’ve never liked this song really.
    But I heard it, and thought to myself “yeah……..this song really sucks, what are the Shop Boyz tying to say?”

    So, “Rock Star (Party Like A Rockstar) is by far THE worst song of all time with wonderful lyrics like this, can you disagree?

    “Ha! Ha! Party like a rockstar
    Do it with the black n the white like a cop car,
    Me n my band man, on a yacht wit marilyn manson gettin a tan man,
    You know me, with a skull belt, and wallet chain,
    Shop Boyz rockstarz, ya we bought to change the game,
    Change the game? they know that imma star,
    imma star, imma make it rain from the center of my guitar!”

    GENIUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

