I wonder if we can somehow blame Paris Hilton for this one

30 Jan

sharingherpes.jpgSome particularly embarrassing news out of Minnesota today: the entire state high school wrestling league has been suspended. The reason for the suspension? Well, it didn’t come from unfair play, illegal recruiting, doping, gambling, cheating, boozing or any of the other usual suspects. Nope, the league has been shut down due to a widespread herpes outbreak. Yes, you read that correctly.

I never knew any wrestlers in my high school, and while I always expected they engaged in their fair amount of horseplay – boys will be boys, as they say – I never knew they went so far as to actually blow each other before matches. I mean, come on guys. This is sports. Have some class.

On the other hand, I probably shouldn’t judge. I’m sure stuff like this happens all over the country, but since this was a statewide suspension from a high-profile sport, the news is getting an excessive amount of coverage. Why, I remember that time back in college when the administration banned my housemates and me from throwing parties due to a rampant outbreak of chlamydia. We barely received any media attention at all.

4 Responses to “I wonder if we can somehow blame Paris Hilton for this one”

  1. cool rut January 31, 2007 at 12:04 am #

    As much as you like to think your ignorance is humorous, it is simply sad. I secretly think you believe that the heavywieght was blowing the 98 pounder prior to a meet. The virus is spread by skin-to-skin contact. Symptoms have included lesions on the face, head and neck of wrestlers. The exposed part of the wrestler, a break in the skin allows the virus to take hold. The strain of herpes is the same one that causes cold sores. I seem to remember seeing you with a cold sore, who did you blow? Last time that wrestling in MN was put on hold was from an outbreak of ringworm. Another way to get ringworm is thru urine. Golden showers are a popular hazing ritual in wrestling. Nah, that was all made up. Who the fuck knows how one gets ringworm but I would think it is spread by skin-to-skin contact.

  2. Brandon January 31, 2007 at 12:13 am #

    You know full well who gave me herpes, you cold-hearted son of a bitch. Next time, tell the guy BEFOREHAND.

    Also, everyone knows ringworm is spread through corn-holing. And here you are, calling ME ignorant! Too funny.

  3. cool rut January 31, 2007 at 12:38 am #

    Sorry if I was a little harsh. I think the vicoden addiction is changing my personality. I think I should switch back to weed.

  4. cool rut January 31, 2007 at 12:41 am #

    Why are the other three people who visit daily so afraid to chime in? Maybe we should quit entertaining them and just call each other.

Leave a Reply

