Focus schmocus: here's some random links for your perusal

22 Dec

colbertmeloy.jpgAllow myself to categorize by…um, category:

MUSIC: A fantastic website I stumbled across this week is Creekside Review. It’s a blog dedicated mostly to music, and the site’s proprietor offers tons of free MP3s available to download. For PC/Mozilla users, it’s as simple as right-clicking on the link and selecting “save link as.” In the past two days I’ve downloaded tracks from Spoon, My Morning Jacket, The Format, Maximo Park, Arctic Monkeys, TV on the Radio (amazing band, btw), M. Ward, Cold War Kids and many more. (This post has most of ’em.)

Seriously: FREE MUSIC. What are you still doing here?

TV: The hotly anticipated “guitar solo challenge” between Stephen Colbert and The Decemberists took place last night on The Colbert Report. The video over at Comedy Central’s Motherload provides the background on how the “feud” between the host and the band came about. Fairly funny stuff, I s’pose…however, if you’re looking for some hilarious video, check out the old Even Stephven debates between Colbert and Carell from The Daily Show. I’m quite sure it’ll tickle that there funny bone of yours.

COMEDY: I rather enjoyed the Jimmy Kimmel & Sarah Silverman “What I’ve Learned” feature from Esquire Magazine. One funny excerpt is Silverman describing the first time she and Kimmel got busy: “So he follows me down the hall, probably twenty-five feet to my bedroom, and I go into my bedroom and I turn around, and he’s standing in my doorway, completely naked like a bear. Like a big wild bear! I was shocked! I mean, at what point had all his clothes come off? And I looked at him like—I don’t know, I just was taken aback.”

SPORTS: Unless I can drink away the memory (fingers crossed!), I will probably always remember Thursday night’s Viking-Packer contest as the ugliest football game I’ve ever witnessed. I’ve never seen two teams do so much to try to lose a game. Penalties, dropped passes, missed field goals, inaccurate passes, missed blocking assignments, turnovers…what an embarrassing display. Even the Oakland Raiders were like, “man, these guys suck.” Looks like Brad Johnson wasn’t the problem after all. I’m still in Tarvaris Jackson’s corner though, but it’s mostly just due to the fact that I simply don’t like white people. There, I said it.

2 Responses to “Focus schmocus: here's some random links for your perusal”

  1. TJ December 22, 2006 at 6:38 am #

    Thanks for the link. Keep checking back. I’ve got this great idea where I “list” my “favorite” “albums.” But here’s the catch: The albums are only from the last year. It’s topical and summarizizing.

    Neat idea, huh? I think it’s going to catch on.

  2. Brandon December 22, 2006 at 5:51 pm #

    Sweet jeezus, that’s an INGENIUS idea! I can’t believe no one else has ever thought of that.

    Definitely have to rip that idea off. Good lookin’ out, yo.

Leave a Reply

