I hope I don't end up crying myself to sleep like last Election Day

7 Nov

stewartcolbert.jpgIn honor of Election Day 2006, I felt that, as an owner of an influential website, the most prudent thing I could do was get all political up in this bitch:

>> Rolling Stone recently posted an excerpt of its interview with Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert. It’s a great read; I’m officially vouching for it. The best part: when asked about the popular “Stewart/Colbert ‘08” t-shirts, Stewart said, “Nothing says ‘I’m ashamed of you, my government’ more than ‘Stewart/Colbert ’08.” Right on, right on. (Also, someone needs to buy me one of those shirts.)

>> Minnesota readers looking to do some last-minute cramming before polls close (at 8 pm, by the way) may want to visit MPR’s website. They’ve got hella info on all the candidates. The “Select a Candidate” tool has been hailed far and wide as being totally off the chain.

As for me, well, after digging in and doing hours of research I’d firmly decided to cast my vote for Peter Hutchinson. But then, on the way home from work today I saw a man on the highway overpass holding a Pawlenty sign…and now I don’t know what to think. I’m right back to square one. I mean, reading newspapers and learning the viewpoints of each candidate is important and all, but let’s be honest: in terms of influence, nothing beats a dude holding a sign on an overpass.

Damn this election process, it’s got me all bugaboo.

One Response to “I hope I don't end up crying myself to sleep like last Election Day”

  1. stinger November 7, 2006 at 11:44 am #

    Thanks for this link, I was going in blind, but now I feel real smart

Leave a Reply

